Marshmallow Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made 1/2 a recipe to try this out and it fit fine in a square pan. I didn't use granny smith apples, I believe they were Gala apples, but I don't think that matters. The difference between this apple crisp and others I have eaten is the slight change in the topping. It is not really crispy except for the "old fashioned oats" I used. And, the topping tastes like an oatmeal cookie, but has the consistency of "apple butter," but it is really sweet! The marshmallows dissolved while cooking, but I am guessing were added for extra sweetness? I thought it was a little sweet, which could definitely be cut back. But, texture aside I did like that the topping tasted slightly like a baked oatmeal cookie which was a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I took this to a girl's night and everyone had seconds! I kept hoping that people would stop eating it so I could take home leftovers. Next time, I'll make one just for me! I made this very close to the original recipe, except in half. And I used 5 smallish Fuji apples instead of 4 large Granny Smiths, since that's what I had on hand. The proportion was perfect! So good, but it is very sweet. If you pair it with anything, make sure it's not sweet - probably not something you want to add ice cream to. It would go wonderfully with a cappuccino!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe faithfully, but it was way too sweet for me. I was rather impressed with how syrupy it was and the melted marshmallows were yummy, but won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is just way too sweet for my family -- even my tweens, who love sweets, didn't finish their portion. We love apple crisp but the marshmallows in this variation almost made our teeth hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The marshmallows made it too sweet. A traditional apple crisp is much more to our liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! Did not deviate from the recipe. Served with whip cream. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was very good- everyone loved it BUT it was very, very sweet. I think when I make this again, I will use less brown sugar. The marshmellows gave it a GREAT topping- was fund and different and o so YUMMY. I wouldn't omitt them because it sets it a part from other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Pappas

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Loved it! I was a bit short on butter so I just made it with what I had and it still came out great! Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
It´s deliciously crunchy and the combination of the soft apples and gummy mallows make every bite just perfect. Fast, tasty, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Amazing, delicious, and simple. Very easy to make and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States