Marshmallow and Lime Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I found out why some people say it is runny. Well if you mix in the pineapple using a mixer it makes the juice in the pieces of pineapple come out. If you just stir in the pineapple gently no problem. Hope this helps It was a hit at bunco everyone wants to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This was awesome! The trick is to make it the night before so it has enough time in the fridge to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Pay close attention to the amount of 7-up you use. When it is runny, most likely you added the whole can, or more than 7 oz. My sis did this, and of course, it was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Just a fyi, fresh pineapple has an enzyme that prevents gelatin from setting. Only use canned pineapple in any jello recipe. You need to fold the pineapple in rather than beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except that I put in coconut instead of the pecans. Also, after the 1st step, I did not allow the marshmallow/soda mixture to cool before adding the other ingredients. I could not figure out how the cream cheese would mix in unless it could melt in. It turned out great and was very delicious! It was the perfect addition to our holiday meal. I made the recipe the day before so it had plenty of time to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndianaAnna
Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
The taste was good - pineapple & lime - refeshing. It turned out slightly soupy - I exactly measured the 7 oz. of soda so it must be the juice with the crushed pineapple that varies among brand or size. After being in the refrigerator for over 24 hrs., I ended up putting it in the freezer and then lettin it thaw 30 min. prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
We really enjoyed this light & creamy dessert. I used sugar free jello and also melted my marshmallows in Fresca. I also used light cool whip & cream cheese. It still turned out wonderfully delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I served this recipe for Thanksgiving. The whole family fell in love with it. Those of us that cook, appreceiate the convenience of preparing it. This recipe is much simper than other ones similar to it. We know we serve this type of salad every year. This was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe. Tripled it & took to a big potluck. I did change the way I put the salad together. After reading all the comments about people not having this jello salad set up properly, I decided to add the jello to the hot soda & melted marshmellow mixture. (Jello needs a hot liquid to properly disolve.) Then I creamed together the room temp cream cheese & mayo with my hand mixer before stirring it into the mostly cooled soda, marshmellow and fully disolved lime jello mixture. Lastly I folded in all the other ingredients until well blended (I substited shredded cocconut for the chopped pecans since I was taking to a putluck & some are allergic to nuts). It set up beautifully and I had wonderful comments and even a few requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My family loved this salad and I found it easy to make. I also had no trouble with it setting and I'm wondering if those of you who did, put water in your jello, instead of putting just the dry jello in the marshmallow/beverage mixture, just after letting it cool slightly, so the jello dissolves. I also brought my cream cheese to room temperature and creamed it & the mayo with my mixer, then added the still warm jello/marshmallow mixer to it on a low speed until the cream cheese dissolved. I then added the pineapple & nuts. It turned out perfect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michilinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States