Marshmallow and Lime Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a great salad. My granddaughter thought it was ice-cream. This does make a lot of salad. Great for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas, and used the suggestion of one of the past reviewers, as I don't care for pecans. I substituted 3/4 cup coconut for the pecans. I also did not wait for the marshmallows and 7-up to cool before adding the gelatin and cream cheese. It turned out really delicious. As a final touch, I put more marshmallows along the top of the jello after finishing it, then put it in the refrigerator to set over night. It was not runny at all and was very good. My guests had a mixed reaction to it. I guess if you don't like lime/pineapple/coconut, as all three flavors are pretty strong, you wouldn't like this. I, however, thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I want to love this recipe and taste-wise I do, but it's been so frustrating! Turns out so soupy which isn't appetizing. I've tried so many changes after the original didn't work AT ALL and this is what's been best: Used a little less soda (5-6 ounces), mixed in softened cream cheese and jello when marshmallow mix was still hot. Added pineapple (drained well) after I chilled for about an hour. I've been so busy adjusting for texture I haven't even tried different flavors but I may try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Just a fyi, fresh pineapple has an enzyme that prevents gelatin from setting. Only use canned pineapple in any jello recipe. You need to fold the pineapple in rather than beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Okay, I must admit, when I read the recipe it sounded a lot like some concoction I would have come up with as a kid... those ones you dare your friends to eat. Well, I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. What a wonderful surprise. The appearance isn't much to rave about but the taste is nice and light and sweet. My preference now is to omit the nuts. I found the texture of the mousse like mix and the nuts just didn't quite go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was pretty good. I used orange soda and jello since that's what I had on hand. I didn't have any whipped topping so I used extra marshmallows and half of the pineapple juice and the dessert became almost as firm as jello in about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gamingirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
After reading some other reviews saying that this salad was "runny" I took extra care . . . did not beat the ingredients with a mixer to avoid breaking down the pineapple and creating more juice . . . did not use any artifically sweetened ingredients as I know some of these can contain more water . . . made it and refrigerated it for 24 hours prior to serving . . . and it was still runny! Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
When first making this, I was not a huge fan. But after taking a long hiatus, I LOVE this stuff. I found that this time I omitted the mayo and nuts. I also agree with others and not use a mixer. I will try to use the recipe with orange jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
looks unappealing but it's really good! new name for it by my family is "the green stuff" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I have made this recipe twice. The first time was way too runny!! The second time I drained the juice from the pinapple (over 1 cup of juice) and it seemed to turn out much better. A delicious recipe that everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States