Marranitos (Mexican Pig-Shaped Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
So, i didnt happen to have a pig shaped cookie cutter lying around, so i used the basis of this recipe for drop cookies! Well, i only used 3.75 cups of flour rather than 6, and 3/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of light corn syrup. I added a dash of ginger, and they were delicious! Now they are a family must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were great! The dough was crumbly so I kept having to add shortening...i almost gave up. I'm glad I didnt! They are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
was so good, just like when i was a lil girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I ended up only using 5 cups of flour - I don't think my mixer could have handled another cup. Other than that I used the recipe to a T. I think next time I'll only use 1 cup of brown sugar as I found these to be a little sweeter than the kind I'm used to - but at least I can have these anytime now instead of waiting until someone in the family visits or is visiting from Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe..... I didnt use all the flour, I added it as needed but overall this was the perfect recipe....Thanks I have been looking all over for it! So glad I found it:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Love these cookies!!! So glad I found the recipe...no more shipping them from Texas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I do have to give everyone a warning about this recipe! When you bake these babies, keep them out from your kids sight. They will ruin dinner. My brother visited from Houston and said these taste so much better than the bakeries there! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Love these cookies! Great flavor -- even better than the bakery's version. However, based on the "too dry" remarks from several of the reviewers, I only used about 5 cups of flour. Basically, I just added flour until the dough pulled away from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena0206

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I WILL TRY THIS RECIPE CAUSE THE ORIGINAL SUGAR(PILONCILLO)THAT WE USE IS TO EXPENSIVE.IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THIS DOUGH FOLLOW THE RECIPE THE WAY IT IS AND THEN LEAVE IT IN THE FRIDGE FOR ONE HOUR OR MORE.LIVING THE DOUGH IN THE FRIDGE WILL HELP TO WORK WITH IT WHEN YOU HAVE TO ROLL IN AND CUT THE SHAPE OF THE MARRANITO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aide19802002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States