Marranitos (Mexican Pig-Shaped Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I love these cookies! The second time I made them I altered the recipe just a bit, which really made them incredible: 1)I added 1 tsp of ground ginger as suggested. 2)I thought these were a tad too molasses-y, so I used 3/4 cup molasses and 1/4 cup honey. 3)To make the dough a little less crumbly and easier to roll out, I upped the milk to 1/3 cup. 4) I like them to be a little thicker, so I rolled the dough out to 1/2 inch thickness. Also, my pig cookie cutter was much smaller than the traditional, so this recipe made 4 dozen cookies, and I baked them for 12 minutes (you don't want to overbake). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Love these cookies! Great flavor -- even better than the bakery's version. However, based on the "too dry" remarks from several of the reviewers, I only used about 5 cups of flour. Basically, I just added flour until the dough pulled away from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena0206

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
They tasted exactly like the puerquitos that my parents used to buy me as a child from our local panaderia (bakery). My one suggestion is to adjust the baking time if you dont have the marranito/puerquito cookie cutter. this cookie cutter is slightly larger then your average large cookie. I used a large tulip cookie cutter (b/c its what i had) and the first batch hardened to much, and they were okay, but they defintely didnt have that authentic marranito texture. So I lowered the timed by 3-4 mintues. Its also important to roll the batter into the right thickness...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsZuniga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were great! The dough was crumbly so I kept having to add shortening...i almost gave up. I'm glad I didnt! They are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I do have to give everyone a warning about this recipe! When you bake these babies, keep them out from your kids sight. They will ruin dinner. My brother visited from Houston and said these taste so much better than the bakeries there! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These turned out well but I found the dough a little difficult to work with. I did end up using the full six cups of flour. 1/2 Molasses and 1/2 honey and dark brown sugar. I also added a little orange zest for additional flavor. I had a 3.75" pig cookie cutter and baked them for 12 minutes. I would go a little less next time so they are a bit softer. The centers were soft but the feet were crunchy. Good dunkers for hot tea. The Mexican guys at work really liked them. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made these last Christmas and my family loved them. They looked and tasted just like the bakery. The only thing is that they were a little hard. I suggest using more shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
So, i didnt happen to have a pig shaped cookie cutter lying around, so i used the basis of this recipe for drop cookies! Well, i only used 3.75 cups of flour rather than 6, and 3/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of light corn syrup. I added a dash of ginger, and they were delicious! Now they are a family must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I ended up only using 5 cups of flour - I don't think my mixer could have handled another cup. Other than that I used the recipe to a T. I think next time I'll only use 1 cup of brown sugar as I found these to be a little sweeter than the kind I'm used to - but at least I can have these anytime now instead of waiting until someone in the family visits or is visiting from Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States