Marrakesh Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Found this recipe by ingredient searching for something to do with eggplant. So glad I did. It was excellent. I did make a few changes. Forgot to get a sweet potato, so I used red potatoes. Doubled curry powder and cinnamon using 1 TBSP sweet curry powder and 1 TBSP spicy. Lessened salt to 1/2 tsp. Doubled almonds. Added 1/4 cup finely diced ginger. Next time would increase raisins to 1/3 or 1/2 a cup as they provide a pleasing sweet element. Next, to account for people saying some veggies were too hard while others were overcooked I started my Dutch oven with 3 TBSP oil and the spices. Next added carrot, onion and potatoes cooked 3-4 min. Added OJ, raisins, and chickpeas. Cooked 10 min. Then added all veggies except spinach. Cooked 10 min. while I made couscous. Stirred in spinach and cooked 5 min. Added 1/2 a lemon juiced at end to brighten as curry powder always has a base flavor to me that needs an acid to contrast with it. All veggies were perfect and it was delicious. This way the eggplant sucks up all the good juice and spices rather than just oil. Added extra 1/2 cup of OJ as it needed more. Must say spinach was from the farmers market and made a big difference in taste. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
It surprised me when it did not taste as good as I expected it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was very tasty. Followed the recipe pretty closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
We LOVED this dish and will repeat it many times I'm sure. I didn't use almonds because I didn't have them and I added some ginger. I also increased all of the spices a little but don't think you have to to make it good. I served it over Israeli coucous and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
WOW!!! Amazing! great flavors I left out eggplant since I didn't have it and I added a yellow potato and served over Israeli Cous Cous YUMM! Total keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe! Used carrot juice instead of orange juice with good results. Left out almonds because of husband's allergy, but next time I'll add some on top of my serving. Used brown jasmine rice underneath. I will keep this and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
It is with great sadness that I give this recipe only three stars. I loved it myself (after reading the other reviews and adding extra spice), but it was not a big hit with my family. My partner is averse to savory dishes with raisins and cinnamon, and my 5-year-old liked it until he got "something mushy," at which point he began to cry. But I thought it was quite tasty. A nice blend of flavors, and a beautiful array of colors in the vegetables. Oh, and I substituted raw pistachios for the almonds, which I thought was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kv
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
wonderful as is and still versatile enough to add/ omit vegetables as per availabillity. The orange juice turns the dish sublime. Dont forget to add some fresh ginger in. complements the OJ wonderfully. Served it with some couscous that had been soaked in veggie broth and tossed in EVOO. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
AMAZING. I doubled the spiced except for the cayenne. I would say this makes more like 10 (1.75 cup, 240 calorie) servings. SO YUMMY!! Will be making again, SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
So very yummy! I doubled spice per comments and used grapefruit juice instead of orange because that is what I had. Scarfed down with some whole wheat tortillas Ethiopian style with my hands. Very full, happy tummy and already looking forward to leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States