Marrakesh Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
As a caterer, I utilize Allrecipes very often. I had occasion to find Morracan recipes for a fund raiser we did, and I came across Marrakesh Vegetable Curry. It was very well received by the guests, and surprised a few at how delicious it was. We followed the recipe, as is our custom with first time recipes, and in the future, we will not change a thing! It was delicious from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Uchita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I cut my sweet potatoes too big (about 1") and had to let this cook for closer to 30-35 minutes for them to soften up. Other than that I was really pleased with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Fabulous and delicious vegan dish. I have been making this dish several times a month - and freezing the left overs for quick healthy/frozen dinners. Freezes and re-heats in microwave great! The only change I make to the original recipie is to use less olive oil (I use usually between 3-4 Tbs total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
WOWZA! My husband can't stop raving about this dish! I used the veggies I had on hand since I couldn't run to the store that day, so I ended up not adding the peppers and subbing a russet potato for the sweet. And I didn't have any spinach. But I'm looking forward to making the recipe as written. I will be making this again and again. Delicious. PS I didn't add the almonds so that my daughter could eat it, and it was still great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedmamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used the recommended carrot/ginger juice, omitted the chopped carrots, used cashews instead of almonds, and coconut oil instead of olive oil. The complexity of flavors was awesome! My husband loved it, and he's normally a meat-and-potatoes man. He couldn't believe this was a vegan dish. We will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Love this! I made it almost exactly like the recipe instructed. The only changes I made were that I was out of carrots, so i used an extra sweet potato and I used blanched peanuts instead of almonds- again, because that is what I had on hand. It was so yummy! Even my kids enjoyed it. Will definitely make again- it is perfect vegetarian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I took the advice of others. I doubled the curry, turmeric and garlic. I also put 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I served this over rice. Is good as a stew as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've made this curry 3 times in the past week! The great thing is that there are so many vegetables in this recipe that if you don't have one of them on hand it won't be missed. We have found that we even like the leftovers served cold. Had to make substitutions and omissions as we can't easily get red bell pepper or spinach. So just left it out and used the local green leafy vegetable that is regularly available. I am having to use dried chick peas, so it takes a little longer but they really are good in the dish. Make sure to simmer in the orange juice with the lid on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Found this recipe by ingredient searching for something to do with eggplant. So glad I did. It was excellent. I did make a few changes. Forgot to get a sweet potato, so I used red potatoes. Doubled curry powder and cinnamon using 1 TBSP sweet curry powder and 1 TBSP spicy. Lessened salt to 1/2 tsp. Doubled almonds. Added 1/4 cup finely diced ginger. Next time would increase raisins to 1/3 or 1/2 a cup as they provide a pleasing sweet element. Next, to account for people saying some veggies were too hard while others were overcooked I started my Dutch oven with 3 TBSP oil and the spices. Next added carrot, onion and potatoes cooked 3-4 min. Added OJ, raisins, and chickpeas. Cooked 10 min. Then added all veggies except spinach. Cooked 10 min. while I made couscous. Stirred in spinach and cooked 5 min. Added 1/2 a lemon juiced at end to brighten as curry powder always has a base flavor to me that needs an acid to contrast with it. All veggies were perfect and it was delicious. This way the eggplant sucks up all the good juice and spices rather than just oil. Added extra 1/2 cup of OJ as it needed more. Must say spinach was from the farmers market and made a big difference in taste. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
It surprised me when it did not taste as good as I expected it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States