Marmite Mince Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I thought this recipe was great. Simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Mum used to make this all the time when I was a kid. I follow this recipe but add peas like she used to, and I also omit the paprika. Husband can't stand Marmite, but I love it. The gravy is delicious, and goes great with carrots and mashed potatoes. This is wonderful comfort food; quick, easy and inexpensive too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
As a person from the U.S. I've recently discovered the wonders of Marmite. This recipe is quite tasty. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but had to add more butter because mine didn't pool in the bottom like it was supposed to. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Really simple and soooooooo good. I had my mince over mashed potatoes. I had seconds and one of my sisters had "fourths". I love Marmite and have been looking for recipes, this one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
is there a north american/ specifically canadian version of marmite/vegemite? i always hear so much about it but this is definitely my first time hearing that its really... yeast extract... haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I couldn't stand Vegemite alone on toast, but my husband loves it so I thought I'd see if there was another way to eat it that would suit both of our tastes. With this recipe, I'd eat the stuff regularly. My husband and I LOVED this - we served it with mashed potatoes and sweet peas, and mixed everything together a bit on our plates. Wish I'd have thought to make bread to go with it - a crunchy French bread would have been fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Really liked the sound of this but I found it extremely salty (I used marmite, I don't know if it would have been the same if I'd used vegemite). Might try it again with less marmite but doubtful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teddington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My British friend introduced me to marmite and I love it! I'm going to try this using Morningstar meatless crumbles or veggie burgers, and mushroom bouillon and veggie gravy mix. I'll let you all know how it turns out. I'm so glad to see a recipe using marmite here. I always just have it on a bagel with butter, but I'm sure there's plenty more I can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I love marmite so decided to look for some recipes I could use it in. I liked this, but it was a bit bland...I think next time I will use more marmite and see if that makes a difference. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I love to cook, but I normally I like to stick to recipes I know, I took a chance on this recipe and it was a fantastic choice, everyone in my family went back for seconds , now it is our family secret when we take it to friends party's , everyone asks me to make it for them! It's a great winter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States