Mark's Nearly Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This is definitely going to be famous! The absolute best sloppy joes I've ever tasted. I've tried a lot of other recipes and I'm so glad I've found the one I'm sticking with. Thanks Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Takes forever, but the taste is sure worth it! Best to start early on a Saturday for this one. Yum---E!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I used 3 pound beef and added chopped green onions, cooked in a crockpot. This is the best sloppy joes I've ever tasted, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I put this together and everyone was commenting on the strange smoke flavoring scent (I think they were worried) but it was an overall hit with them and especially my kids. Thanks again Liz in Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
We ate these, but none of use were too impressed with them. The vinegar taste was very strong. I guess we are used to a tomato-base sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
We thought this was just OK, but then we're not huge sloppy joe fans. I thought it was a little too tangy. I'll probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I give anyone credit who spends the time trying to perfect a recipe. In our house sloppy joes are for the nights I need to make "quickie dinners" and truthfully, the canned stuff works just fine. This was, however, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was a little expensive to make with so many ingredients, however worth the expense and effort. Loved the taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I loved the looks of this recipe and tried it last night. I found it to be too vinagery for my taste. I added another can of tomato paste to slightly thicken & tone it down, let it set in the fridge overnight, and had it for lunch today. It was great. The next time I make this, I wiil go with 3 lbs hamburger, (freeze for when I go ice fishing for an easy meal), and lighten up on the vinager and lemon juice. Now to me, that will be the perfect sloppy joe! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOOD, BUT IF YOU HAVE TO BUY ALL THE INGRIDIENTS I THINK IT WOULD BE TOO EXPENSIVE. I THINK MY SLOPPY JOES(WITH ONION, KETCHUP, BBQ SAUCE AND A BIT OF BROWN SUGAR IS JUST AS GOOD..I HAVE EVEN BEEN OUT OF BROWN SUGAR AND USED WHITE SUGAR AND NOBODY KNEW THE DIFFERENCE). I THINK I WILL STICK WITH THE CHEAPER VERSION OF THE TWO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States