Mark's Nearly Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I didn't have condensed chicken gumbo soup so I used organic powdered condensed chicken soup, I also didn't have yellow mustard but used gluten free white mustard and lastly I didn't have white vinegar intead I used Mirin cooking wine. The dish was wonderful! Much better than I remember the best canned sauce mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam at Rocking W Ranch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mosca, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
The texture of these is phenomenal. I think every ingredient is well worth the work. Jalapeno is an extra my husband and I added. We'll never go back to the "old" way of doin' em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThreebyFiver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I use 3 pounds of hamburger and put in a slow cooker. Comparing this recipe to canned is like comparing store bought applesauce to homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this over the weekend to feed the friends that were helping my daughter move. It was a big hit!!! Only thing I left out was the liquid smoke. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Way too many ingredients! You're better off just buying a can of sloppy joe sauce..the ingredients are very redundent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I have looked for years for my sloppy joe recipe that used Chicken Gumbo Soup. I was thrilled to find this one. Substitute any other ingredient (of course, not the beef!)....but leave in the Chicken Gumbo Soup....it's the secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Zach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Followed the recipe as written and it had an overwhelmingly vinegar taste. I tried adding another can of tomato paste at the suggestion of another reviewer and then tried adding brown sugar to counteract the vinegar to no avail.I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Sorry but we just did not like this. Everyone ate one but the rest we threw out. Thanks for letting us try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I had a large gathering and everyone raved about this recipe. It was a complete success. It was even better for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This one of the best recipes I have ever tried, especially within a five minute notice. I didn't add the veggies nor the liquid smoke and the parsely due to it's unavailablility but regardless, the recipe turned out to my satisfaction, but I'm giving it a 5-star rating because my three picky teenagers thought it was the best they had ever eaten, and actually thought that I had bought the sloppy joe mix in the store. Imagine their wide eyes, and suddenly stopped chewing when I told them it was not from the store but from this website. They all three simultaneously gave me the thumbs up symbol before they resumed eating! Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States