Mark's English Sausage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Yes, I tired this recipe and have used it several times. My grandson-in-law is from Kent and loves sausage rolls. He came to the U.S. in October, so I thought I'd make these for him--just to see if I could come close to what he is accustomed to. Well, I did by genuine British bangers and squeezed the meat out of the skin. I had already done the onion, so I mixed them up. Believe it or not, the English bangers were NOT all that greasy. I mixed the onion, mustard and meat--rolled the meat into the puff pastry (There were 2 sheets in 3 parts each, so I was able to make about 36 rolls.) One can always improvise, but I want to stay true to what Tom is fond of, so I followed the Brit way. One could use Italian sausage and accompany that with a marinara dipping sauce. Or cook/drain chorizo and accompany that with a good salsa. You could add jalapeños, too. There are lots of fun variations--LOVE THIS RECIPE, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is the real thing took me years to find the right taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Problem was finding a good quality sausage meat! I eventually found a good British/Irish butcher and was able to get a good quality authentic sausage meat and was able to make sausage rolls. Also make sure you put a slit in the top of rolls before they go into oven. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I had never even heard of these until my boyfriend asked me to make them. I just wanted to keep it basic for my first try so I cooked the sausage with pepper and garlic powder before rolling them (to reduce the greasiness.) With the first batch I followed the instructions: cutting up the pastry into 6 then rolling. With the second batch I cut the pastry into 3 strips and rolled them, then cut them. This was easier for me. I also didn't need to use egg to seal them. I simply pressed the edges together then pressed with a fork for a finished edge. I used only egg yolk for the tops for a very rich color. This is a great basic recipe for someone who's never made them before! They were delicious, easy to make, and I will use this one again :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These really are very simple and quite delicious. I have made them quit a few times during the holiday, they are good hot, or cold and freeze well too. What a great appetizer or a fancy addition to an afternoon high tea !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very good! I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the sausage first with some onion. This way a lot of the fat was drained off so they werent as greasy. I didnt notice the mustard, maybe I didnt put enough on..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Easy and yummy! I made half the recipe to see how they would turn out before making them for Christmas morning, as most of my baking doesn't turn out very well! I cut one half of the package of the dough into 9 squares, rolled the sage sausage to fit the squares, browned them briefly to drain some grease, rolled them with the Dijon inside and egg on top, and they were great! My husband is from England and loved them. Will make a full batch or two for Christmas! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made these using Sage sausage. I also add onions to the meat and cut slits in the top of the pastry before baking. Delish! My 5 year old loves taking these for her school lunch. Thanks to my British friend for introducing them to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My husband is English also and has lived in the U.S. for seven years and misses not only sausage rolls, but meat and potatoe pies and of course fish and chips. He had never heard of using Dijon mustard in the sausage rolls. I only had honey dijon and did not put too much on the sheets as my husband is not a mustard fan. I did use the Jimmy Dean Sage flavored sausage meat and my husband said it needed even more sage so next time I might at 1/2 tablespoon of sage. I also cooked my sausage and onions before rolling them in the pastry and had no problem with grease. Since it is just the two of us, I froze half the batch. We did pour beef Bisto gravy on them - delish! Hubby even loved them with the mustard though I will keep it to a minimum. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
As an English woman living in the states, I love to cook good english food for my kids so they grow up knowing that side of their family. There were no sausage rolls left, none. They gobbled them instantly. Great recipe and will definatley be a staple in our home now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perfectfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States