Mark's English Sausage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
These tasted excellent. I made one batch as written and the other batch pre- cooking the meat. I prefer the recipe as written. If it ain't broke don't fix it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Had some puff pastry that has been in the freezer that my son wanted me to do something with. So, I went with this basic recipe and then took some of the suggestions about spice. Fried up breakfast sausage, then sautéed some shallot, threw in parsley, a little salt and pepper and some breadcrumbs. Then topped it off with provolone before baking for 20 minutes... The piece de resistance - Lingonberry jam. You have not lived until you have had this! Throw some glazed carrots and fried some eggs (the brushings and an extra) in the caste-iron pan from the sausage and you have an AMA-ZING dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonsina R Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Mmmm, These little babies are amazing! The dijon really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Added diced onions, salt, cracked pepper and sage to taste per other comments and cooked before rolling up in puff pastry. It was delicious. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Yes, I tired this recipe and have used it several times. My grandson-in-law is from Kent and loves sausage rolls. He came to the U.S. in October, so I thought I'd make these for him--just to see if I could come close to what he is accustomed to. Well, I did by genuine British bangers and squeezed the meat out of the skin. I had already done the onion, so I mixed them up. Believe it or not, the English bangers were NOT all that greasy. I mixed the onion, mustard and meat--rolled the meat into the puff pastry (There were 2 sheets in 3 parts each, so I was able to make about 36 rolls.) One can always improvise, but I want to stay true to what Tom is fond of, so I followed the Brit way. One could use Italian sausage and accompany that with a marinara dipping sauce. Or cook/drain chorizo and accompany that with a good salsa. You could add jalapeños, too. There are lots of fun variations--LOVE THIS RECIPE, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is the real thing took me years to find the right taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Problem was finding a good quality sausage meat! I eventually found a good British/Irish butcher and was able to get a good quality authentic sausage meat and was able to make sausage rolls. Also make sure you put a slit in the top of rolls before they go into oven. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I had never even heard of these until my boyfriend asked me to make them. I just wanted to keep it basic for my first try so I cooked the sausage with pepper and garlic powder before rolling them (to reduce the greasiness.) With the first batch I followed the instructions: cutting up the pastry into 6 then rolling. With the second batch I cut the pastry into 3 strips and rolled them, then cut them. This was easier for me. I also didn't need to use egg to seal them. I simply pressed the edges together then pressed with a fork for a finished edge. I used only egg yolk for the tops for a very rich color. This is a great basic recipe for someone who's never made them before! They were delicious, easy to make, and I will use this one again :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These really are very simple and quite delicious. I have made them quit a few times during the holiday, they are good hot, or cold and freeze well too. What a great appetizer or a fancy addition to an afternoon high tea !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very good! I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the sausage first with some onion. This way a lot of the fat was drained off so they werent as greasy. I didnt notice the mustard, maybe I didnt put enough on..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States