Mark's Cabbage and Hamburger Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was a good dish if you enjoy cabbage. I pre-cooked the noodles before adding to the rest of the dish, and then added some of the pasta water to thin it out even more. My husband isn't a huge fan of cabbage, and thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
While this was a simple recipe, my family was not impressed. It is certainly edible, but has no real flavor. It's quite bland. Everyone ate it but asked that I not repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
In an effort to make this a one pot dish, I skipped step one and started with Step 2, adding garlic (garlic goes into everything!) with the onion and added homemade stock, the cream and cabbage last and let it simmer until the cabbage was tender. Using good hungarian paprika is key. I used 1 tbsp hot paprika and 1 tbsp regular. No noodles needed-they are just empty calories and lots of carbs. Topped with some cheese, this dish was excellent! The hubs said to "add it to the list".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Although not a big fan of smoke flavor, I liked this dish - quite unique. I also used beef broth, added some garlic and used more cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this using mild curry powder (1 tbsp) instead of the smoked paprika. Tasted pretty darn good too. However, the dish was not visually appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I agree with the reviewer that said it's similar to Hamburger Helper ... :/ ... I don't want hamburger helper ... 'Changed things, as I do, but not enough to make my review invalid. I didn't use the hamburger. 'Wanted to try it as a side, & then as a main dish if we liked it. 'Don't understand why you'd reduce the chicken broth then add more water - so I didn't. Just continued the recipe without reducing it. I only added a cup of noodles & yeah, it needed to be thickened; but that was okay. It looked cheesy with the paprika so the kids tried it - but "no go" on more than a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This actually turned out pretty good! I used evoo instead of butter and decided to par cook my noodles separately. Once the beef was browned I removed it and wilted my cabbage. In addition to the seasonings suggested I also added garlic and onion powders. The noodles and liquids were then added and I let it simmer until most of the liquid was absorbed. A great way to use up all the cabbage we've been growing! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Really enjoyed this! Very easy and delicious. I did sub beef stock for chicken stock, just because it seemed to make more sense. The smoked paprika is key here - I wouldn't make this with regular paprika. I think the folks that ended up with gummy noodles missed the part where it says to add water to make sure the noodles don't get dry. I added about 2/3 of a cup, which may have been a bit too much but it all worked out. Without knowing anything else, my husband tasted it and said, "Yum! It's healthy Hamburger Helper!" I'll definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
never again, thick pasty, couldn't thin it down to get it good, like the cabbage though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I was really disappointed when I had my end product with this one. My husband is Polish and I really thought this was going to be like a paprikash,but not at all. I thought the noodles were way undercooked and gummy because they cooked in very little liquid. Also, there was way too much paprika. Needless to say, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States