Maritime Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tammy Y
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as listed. It did take about 45 minutes in the oven, though. Loved it! Not overly sweet. NJ has wonderful blueberries, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
So, I made this recipe exactly as written. I've never made anything like this before, so when my batter turned out sticky and thick, I figured I did something wrong... but I could figure out what. After 40min of baking it still was pretty soggy (after the blueberries burst). I didn't think it was going to make it, but I let it bake longer and kept a close eye on it. I read the one review stating a similar problem, but it's only 5C today... So I don't think humidity is a problem. After looking "soggy" crumble up on the net, I found out that I shouldn't have softened the butter, but cut it up really small and mixed it that way cold... Well, since I didn't want it to go to waste, i kicked up the temperature to 375F after 55min at 350F. I only baked it for 5 more minutes as the bottom was starting to look too brown. Hopefully it will taste good with ice cream and you won't be able to tell it's soggy. Just an update: my boyfriend ended up eating the entire dish in 2 days... So even though it turned out soggy and I cooked it too long, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved It! I was worried about there not being much batter but when it baked up, that thought went out the window. Will make more when blueberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
very very good! my whole family loved it! the only thing I changed was that instead of using regular shortening I used coconut oil. I loved smelling this cook in the oven it made the whole house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Converted this to sugar free and gluten free with healthier fat than shortening - substituted 1.5 scoops of vegan protein powder + 1 tbsp agave syrup for the sugar; 1/3 cup each of coconut flour and spelt flour instead of all purpose flour; coconut oil instead of shortening/ butter and for the topping I used grated coconut and muesli instead of flour. I needed to add about 1/4 cup of water because the protein powder made the batter too dry. Turned out great. If you're concerned about gluten and sugar this should work without compromising taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very nice, simple and moist. I did a 1.5 of the recipe (using two eggs) and it was just the right size for a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Excellent! My husband is not a dessert person, but loved this. Will definitely make again with another batch of wild blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
So delicious! This recipe is absolutely perfect. I'll be making this anytime I have extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
We mixed the blueberries into the batter, sprinkled some on the top of the batter, and it was delicious, my teenage sons are gulping it down! I did mix some brown sugar into the topping which added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Excellent both hot and cold. Served this hot with vanilla ice cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States