Mari's Clam Lovers Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I made this recipe on the 4th for a party and it was very good. I felt it needed a little more stock. I went to another party the next day so I made a few changes in the recipe and it was OUTSTANDING! The best I've ever had! I added 9 cups of potatoes intead of 5, used 1 cup butter instead of 1-1/2,used half and half instead of heavy cream, substituted one quart of the water with clam juice, added 1 tbl. thyme, and ommitted the carrots. Everyone loved it. Within an hour, the whole pot of chowder had been eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I didn't change anything and now I wish I had. This barely tasted like clam chowder to me - it was nice and thick and creamy but I felt it lacked a clam taste. If I made this again I would use clam juice in place of the water (or at least l/2 juice and l/2 water). Also, this makes a LOT of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is one of the thickest, creamiest, BEST clam chowder recipes we have ever tried! I did, however, use bottled clam juice instead of the water that was called for. Probably not the healthiest soup with all that heavy cream, but the taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Lucky strike! on this one with KELLE11' 7/8/2002 modifications. OUTSTANDING! heres a couple more changes too. I used Pacific Razor clams I dug at Longbeach, WA the month before. 24 ozs of clams only wt. 8-10 slices bacon ( dont over cook);clam nectar + h2o= 2qts;3-4 Tbls. minced parsley; 1 Tbls blk. pepper & 1+1/2 Tbls. Worshchester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
I'd never made clam chowder before; this was a huge success with my family! I'll make it often. It does take a little time to do all the chopping, but it is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My teenager 'signed' me up to bring a homemade soup to a Cheerleading dish-to pass. I chose this recipe and it was delicious! Very creamy and excellent tasting! I did 'adjust' this recipe, as I cooked it in my crock-pot and was taking my crock-pot to the school. So, I used 5 cans of clams, 16 ozs. Water, an 8oz bottle of clam juice, 1 quart of Heavy Cream, 1 Cup of Butter, and 1 Cup of Flour and all the other ingredients listed in the recipe. The only reason I reduced the liquids and clams was because of the size of my crock-pot. If you use this recipe for a dish-to-pass, you will receive many compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
four of my friends tasted this recipe, and everyone of them raved about it and want the recipe. excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My family loves this. It can be a little too rich for some people, but we think it's great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Best Clam Chowder ever! I had never made clam chowder and gave this one a try. (It didn't call for tomatoes! :)) As I was cooking it I noticed that it was making A LOT. After pouring it altogether and putting everything into my pot I was very concerned. I looked at the recipe and noticed, for the first time, that it made 16 servings! I was definitely worried about my family of five eating it all before it went bad...until I took the first bite. Oh my! Soooo good! Thank you for adding this to allrecipes!! LOVE IT! I can my potatoes so didn't add those until everything else was added because they are already soft. Only variation I made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Definately a keeper! This is an excellent dish. People I shared the chowder with are dying for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States