Mari's Clam Lovers Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My teenager 'signed' me up to bring a homemade soup to a Cheerleading dish-to pass. I chose this recipe and it was delicious! Very creamy and excellent tasting! I did 'adjust' this recipe, as I cooked it in my crock-pot and was taking my crock-pot to the school. So, I used 5 cans of clams, 16 ozs. Water, an 8oz bottle of clam juice, 1 quart of Heavy Cream, 1 Cup of Butter, and 1 Cup of Flour and all the other ingredients listed in the recipe. The only reason I reduced the liquids and clams was because of the size of my crock-pot. If you use this recipe for a dish-to-pass, you will receive many compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Outstanding! Made a few changes....used only 1 quart of fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and 1% milk mixture....only used 1 stick of butter.....6 cans of clams....substituted some of the water with bottled clam juice and made my chowda a little thicker with some cornstarch...also used 1/2 a bag of o'brian style frozen potatoes. Delicious! Even my 7 year old loved it and ate it leftover! Nice hearty chowder...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very good but very rich. You fill up really fast on this one. I made as a first course but ended up saving our main meal until the next day because nobody could eat anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Really good chowder. Next time I will use a bigger stockpot. Very time consuming but worth it. Prep ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Definately a keeper! This is an excellent dish. People I shared the chowder with are dying for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Lucky strike! on this one with KELLE11' 7/8/2002 modifications. OUTSTANDING! heres a couple more changes too. I used Pacific Razor clams I dug at Longbeach, WA the month before. 24 ozs of clams only wt. 8-10 slices bacon ( dont over cook);clam nectar + h2o= 2qts;3-4 Tbls. minced parsley; 1 Tbls blk. pepper & 1+1/2 Tbls. Worshchester.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is one of the thickest, creamiest, BEST clam chowder recipes we have ever tried! I did, however, use bottled clam juice instead of the water that was called for. Probably not the healthiest soup with all that heavy cream, but the taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
wow this was good. I never had home made clam chowder before only from can which i thought was awful so I didn't think I would like this. But boy was I wrong, very very good. Nice and thick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
four of my friends tasted this recipe, and everyone of them raved about it and want the recipe. excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I made this recipe on the 4th for a party and it was very good. I felt it needed a little more stock. I went to another party the next day so I made a few changes in the recipe and it was OUTSTANDING! The best I've ever had! I added 9 cups of potatoes intead of 5, used 1 cup butter instead of 1-1/2,used half and half instead of heavy cream, substituted one quart of the water with clam juice, added 1 tbl. thyme, and ommitted the carrots. Everyone loved it. Within an hour, the whole pot of chowder had been eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States