Mari's Clam Lovers Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
great clam chowder didn't do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Best Clam Chowder ever! I had never made clam chowder and gave this one a try. (It didn't call for tomatoes! :)) As I was cooking it I noticed that it was making A LOT. After pouring it altogether and putting everything into my pot I was very concerned. I looked at the recipe and noticed, for the first time, that it made 16 servings! I was definitely worried about my family of five eating it all before it went bad...until I took the first bite. Oh my! Soooo good! Thank you for adding this to allrecipes!! LOVE IT! I can my potatoes so didn't add those until everything else was added because they are already soft. Only variation I made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was great. Made it for some friends and they almost ate it all. Just 6 servings. Better than I have had in New England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I used this as a base for a seafood chowder, instead of just a clam chowder. As well as clams, I added scallops, salmon, haddock and shrimp. It was rich and delicious. I did add a little dried tarragon (1 tsp) because we love the flavour with seafood. My husband and 18 month old picky eater LOVED this chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
The actual soup was great but it makes a lot more than 12 servings; more like 24. We had so much leftover we had to freeze it. I suggest cutting it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I thought this was the best clam chowder recipe yet! Loved it although I did make the changes to add to the flavor. 9 cups of potatoes instead of 5 1 qt of clam juice to substitute 1qt of water and also replaced heavy cream with 1/2 & 1/2. TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is wonderful. My only tip would be to use a very large pot, as it is a huge recipe. If you don't have a very large one, make just 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Michael, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I first made this recipe two years ago and the family loved it. It has become a required food at winter family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was really good but needs clam juice for the broth as other reviewers suggested. Otherwise a five star recipe!I also added fresh thyme,garlic,and scallions for added flavor. I served with oyester crackers for dinner and it was a meal in itself as it was very hearty. Will definately make again. Thanks for the easy recipe!*update* made this again and added some better than boullion clam base and some old bay seasoning. it was much better this way. i also served it w/ some toasted cajun spiced sourdough croutons. a hit! this will be my clam chowder recipe from now on. next time i will leave the bacon on the side so it stays crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I didn't change anything and now I wish I had. This barely tasted like clam chowder to me - it was nice and thick and creamy but I felt it lacked a clam taste. If I made this again I would use clam juice in place of the water (or at least l/2 juice and l/2 water). Also, this makes a LOT of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States