Mari's Clam Lovers Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Used 2 cups whole milk, 2 cups half and half instead of 4 cups heavy cream to cut down on richness. Used 2 cups water & 2 cups chicken broth instead of 4 cups water. Could have used more of a clam flavor. I think I have found my go to potato soup recipe.... just happens to have clams in it. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
very good made it quick when I got home from work,,I 1/2ved the recipe,,had leftover clams from steamer night,,used white pepper,,,put a dash of worceshire,,will add alittle more next time,,added 2 more cans of whole baby clams w/juice and 5 bottles of clam juice,,cuz I thought with the boil it would reduce some,,eyeballed the pot,,becuz I don,t like alot in clam chowder,,after all clam chowder not pot,,soup,..I think the only thing different I would do,,gets thick,,and I like it thick,,but add alittle chix broth at end, to thin just a tad,,and flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
After reading a few other reviews which mentioned a lack of clam flavor, the only change I made was subbing half of the water with clam juice. Because I halved the recipe, it called for 4 cups of water; I used 2 cups plus 2 8 oz bottles of clam juice. The results were amazing-- everyone here, including two people who have lived in New England and can appreciate great chowder, proclaimed it among the best they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Amazing! Absolutely no leftovers to speak of. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayala101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My first attempt to make Clam Chowder and great recipe. I did add two tablespoons of bacon grease into the recipe which added a good flavor, though not as healthy. My 13 year old loved it. The soup resembled a backed potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My family loves this. It can be a little too rich for some people, but we think it's great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This tasted amazing!!! I substituted a few ingriedients that I didnt have and it was still excellent. The cooking times may be a bit long...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I liked this recipe. I thought the clam flavor was very nice, not too strong. I added some corn, cause I just figured it needed more veggies and I like corn in my chowder. I also used small red potatoes that I din't peel. And didn't bother adding any sugar since the veggies would give the soup enough sugar. For sure will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Val Marie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefHubby
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
We like HEAT so I added 1 chopped jalapeno (for 6 serving size) omitted the carrots (because I don't think we wanted the sweetness) and added more celery and potatoes. This was so very GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I was looking for a clam chowder recipe after my mom came back from Cape Cod and told me about all the seafood she had eaten on the trip. It made me crave good, creamy clam chowder. I tried this recipe, altered it a bit-omitting the red wine vinegar (I forgot it at the grocer's) and using 1 cup water and 1 cup chicken stock. It was creamy and delicious! I'll be making this one in the winter when it's really cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bugsythepigeon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States