Mari's Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe. Most banana cupcake recipes I've tried are a little dense and muffin/bread like. This one is fluffy, soft and very tasty. I have to admit that I was slightly skeptical about using the full 2 tsp of baking soda (it seemed a little much for the amounts of the other ingredients) but I did use the full 2 tsp and even though the batter tasted a little soda-y, the final product did not. It was perfect. I did make a couple of minor changes in that I did not use the pecans at all and I baked these at 325 degrees instead of 300. I got 18 regular sized cupcakes out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe but the cook that responded with "loved the recipe, but I changed it a bit" she changed the entire recipe! What's the point of responding, post your own recipe. Kudos to Mari I'm enough of a cook to know a good recipe when I see it. We'll be making them tomorrow after the 5k with the bruised bananas. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe came out so fluffy! Best version of banana bread I've ever had, and I've tried a LOT. i would've given it five stars except that I modified it quite a bit. Instead of three bananas I only used two and added a box of banana pudding mix. Since the pudding was drier than a banana would be I took out about a quarter cup of flour. I also added a tablespoon of vanilla and instead of buttermilk I used Mexican crema. I love experimenting and this time I think it really paid off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britwhit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
These cupcakes were amazing!! They were so moist and the flavor was beyond great! I followed the recipe exactly an made cream cheese icing for them. I took these to a potluck "dessert night" and they were a hit...definitely the best dessert there. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Delicious! I laid on the buttercream and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
These were absolutely delicious! There is a very slight taste of banana which didn't overpower the muffin. That's a plus in my house to disguise fruit fom my daughter. The only change I made was I used applesauce in place of the oil, I ground the nuts so they blended into the muffin and I added about 2 tableoons of fax seed and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Oh and about 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips! Yummy. I made a batch yesterday and there are only 3 left. About to make a second batch now. Will be making these alot! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is defiantly the thing to do with over ripe bananas! So good and so moist family gobbled it up way faster than they do banana bread. We did add a vanilla glaze to sweeten it up for dessert. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Piggga
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
What a wonderful recipe for those left over ripe bananas! I agree with other reviews that these were fluffy and light. I forgot to mix pecans in with batter so I ended up putting them on top and skipped the confectioner sugar. I like that these need no frosting. I did not have buttermilk and so I just substituted 2% milk and reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
YUMMY! I was looking for a fluffy BB cupcake recipe and this one was super simple. I didn't have buttermilk and didn't want to wait for a store run so I used almond milk. I also added a little vanilla which was recommended from one of the reviews and 3/4 c sugar instead of the full cup, which was also recommended. The batter made 12 cupcakes and 6 doughnuts. If I can stop eating them right out of the oven I will add cream cheese frosting. I also like that this recipe isn't too overpowering with banana flavor. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These came out great. I substituted apple sauce for the vegetable oil and skipped the buttermilk. I added two teaspoons of vanilla to the recipe. I cooked these at 325F for about 20 minutes. I used chocolate frosting on these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States