Mari's Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe came out so fluffy! Best version of banana bread I've ever had, and I've tried a LOT. i would've given it five stars except that I modified it quite a bit. Instead of three bananas I only used two and added a box of banana pudding mix. Since the pudding was drier than a banana would be I took out about a quarter cup of flour. I also added a tablespoon of vanilla and instead of buttermilk I used Mexican crema. I love experimenting and this time I think it really paid off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britwhit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe. Most banana cupcake recipes I've tried are a little dense and muffin/bread like. This one is fluffy, soft and very tasty. I have to admit that I was slightly skeptical about using the full 2 tsp of baking soda (it seemed a little much for the amounts of the other ingredients) but I did use the full 2 tsp and even though the batter tasted a little soda-y, the final product did not. It was perfect. I did make a couple of minor changes in that I did not use the pecans at all and I baked these at 325 degrees instead of 300. I got 18 regular sized cupcakes out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Delicious! I laid on the buttercream and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Slater, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Love it! So EZ to make.... Next time i'll add more bananas because my kids want more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe but the cook that responded with "loved the recipe, but I changed it a bit" she changed the entire recipe! What's the point of responding, post your own recipe. Kudos to Mari I'm enough of a cook to know a good recipe when I see it. We'll be making them tomorrow after the 5k with the bruised bananas. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
These were absolutely delicious! There is a very slight taste of banana which didn't overpower the muffin. That's a plus in my house to disguise fruit fom my daughter. The only change I made was I used applesauce in place of the oil, I ground the nuts so they blended into the muffin and I added about 2 tableoons of fax seed and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Oh and about 3/4 cup of mini chocolate chips! Yummy. I made a batch yesterday and there are only 3 left. About to make a second batch now. Will be making these alot! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Best cupcakes I have ever had, period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These came out great. I substituted apple sauce for the vegetable oil and skipped the buttermilk. I added two teaspoons of vanilla to the recipe. I cooked these at 325F for about 20 minutes. I used chocolate frosting on these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My granddaughter and I made these together and they were delicious. Very moist. She even added both eggs at the same time and they turned out fine. We followed the recipe exactly except that we used cream cheese frosting. Definitely a keeper. Grandma R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I'm basing my review on the taste of the batter since the cupcakes are in the oven while I'm typing this review. The only change I made was to add another banana because I had 4 that were ripe and needed to be used. Also, I use powdered buttermilk that you can find in grocery store in with alternative milks. I find with that product I'm throwing away a lot less buttermilk when I need some for a recipe since you mix it up as needed. I did find that I got 22 cupcakes out of the recipe using my 3 TBS cupcake scoop. Hubby will be the final taste taster as he loves banana cupcakes/cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States