Mari's Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Added chocolate chips instead of pecans. Sprinkled with vanilla sugar before baking. Big hit with boys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I love how this makes a nice light cupcake rather than a denser version such as banana bread. I followed the recipe except that I used just under a full cup of sugar and I didn't want to buy buttermilk for only 3 tbsp since I don't bake often. I looked up a buttermilk substitute and found I could use 1 tbsp white vinegar or lemon juice in a measuring cup and then fill with milk to the 1 cup mark, let stand for 5 minutes and then used 3 tbsp of that. Turned out beautifully! I also chose not to use pecans. These took 17 minutes in the oven at the stated temperature and yielded 3 1/2 dozen (42) mini cupcakes. I also added a cream cheese frosting and a bit of blue and green decoration. Perfect for the little people and moms I was feeding at my son's 1st birthday playdate and we have lots to share with the neighbours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Truong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
So moist and fluffy! Added a tsp of vanilla. I substituted pecans with chocolate chips and made peanut butter frosting. Banana + chocolate + peanut butter is love! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Just made these yesterday. They were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly. So moist and fluffy...not dense like banana bread/muffins. Thanks for sharing this recipe! (I also made the cream cheese frosting and was able to pipe it onto the cupcakes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Really deliciosos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West New York, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Very good cupcake! I used Ghirardelli cocoa recipe for chocolate butter cream frosting and the combo was great. (6 oz butter, 1/2 c. cocoa, 2 2/3 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/3 c. milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is defiantly the thing to do with over ripe bananas! So good and so moist family gobbled it up way faster than they do banana bread. We did add a vanilla glaze to sweeten it up for dessert. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Great cupcake recipe! I didn't have any buttermilk so I used sour milk - 1 tsp vinegar plus 3 tbsp milk. Stir to mix and leave on counter to thicken slightly. I added a splash of vanilla to cake batter because I love vanilla! Family loved them so I will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Was easy, simple to follow but boy was it bland. Nice banana flavor but aside from that no other spice to complement the banana. Moist and fluffy definitely sweet enough with 3/4 cup packed brown sugar and used sour cream when I didn't have buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States