Marinated Vegetable Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is my favorite cucumber salad I've tried from this site. I did adjust the types of veggies based on what I had (cucumbers, onions, yellow bell pepper, carrots) & I subbed Splenda for the sugar (and reduced it, because Splenda is sweeter than sugar, even though the bag tells you to switch out cup for cup). I wish I'd had the celery, and I'll definitely continue to use bell peppers in this when they're available as the sweetness of the bell pepper made a wonderful contrast with the vinegar dressing. The only thing I'd change for next time is to add a little bit of water, maybe 1/8th cup, because I do like mine a bit more watery and less pungent (though my husband prefers it like this!) Thanks so much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is excellent! Served it to a bunch of guys and was surprised to get requests for the recipe from a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was Great One of the best Veggie Salads I have had in along time..B/f Loved it too..Thanks will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My family loves this salad. Its a great addition to any meal. I love taking it to work ralated functions and family gatherings. So easy to prepare the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Specht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Broke out the mandoline for this one. Zip, zip, done. Could not have been any easier. I lessened the sugar amount by 1/4C and the dressing was perfecto -- veg stayed nice and crisp for 2 days in the fridge. *tip* slightly warm the vinegar in microwave prior to blending the dressing to better incorporate the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
I loved this one. I really like cucumbers and vinegar and this one is tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a really good recipe. The longer the dressing sits, the better it gets. I also replaced the sugar with splenda to reduce the calories. I also didn't have cucumbers, but I did have a green bell pepper, so I used that and sliced it nice and thin. For a bit more crunch, I added chopped walnuts and halved grapes. They worked very well with the dressing and the vegetables. Overall, this was a really nice, simple salad that would work in almost any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jefferson, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This is a fantastic dressing recipe. It has a delicious balance of tangy & sweet. I only had time to marinate mine for about an hour but it still tasted great. I used cucumber, red bellpepper and carrots. But this would be great with any of your favorite veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
nd lmarinated for about an hour. EXCELLENR thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We grow cucumbers and always seem to have more than we know what to do with. This is a great recipe! I carried it to work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States