Marinated Tuna Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
WOW!!! This tuna steak was insanely good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I pan seared the tuna for 3 minutes on each side instead of grilling it. I let the steaks marinade for 2 hours and then rest at room temperature for 10 minutes before cooking it. The fish came out awesome, so juicy and wonderfully tasty - I loved it (and I don't even like fish). I will make this again and again and again. Thanks Carin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
668 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I consider myself a pretty proficient cook. I have created many of my own recipes and have often been told that I should have been a cook! But I have never tried tuna steak until now. This recipe is one of the best I've ever used. Anyone who says this tuna is dry is OVERCOOKING their steak, hello? Seared in a red hot frying pan for about 3-4 minutes on each side, this is succulent, indeed! I've never cooked tuna steak before, and it turned out perfectly...VERY juicy and extremely flavorful (but increase marinade time to at least 2 hours for the full effect!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Five stars, no question. Flavorful, juicy, piquant. I quartered the recipe (just cooking for me), cooked it in a skillet and just dumped the whole mix in. I had to substitute teriyaki sauce (had no soya), which may have made it lighter than the original recipe; I enjoyed it this way. I also used dried herbs, found it okay. If I could make it differently I might crust some whole garlic slices right on to the tuna steak, but this is a bit of an unnecessary flourish. If your tuna comes out "tough and chewy" you are cooking it too long. Turn the heat up way high (skillet) or get the coals really going (grill) and sear it. Unless you buy bottom-quality tuna (which you should not), it is safe to cook until the top and bottom are seared but the center is still mostly pink and relatively uncooked. The bacteria grow on the exposed parts, which is why you have to cook the heck out of any ground meat (because the exposed parts have been moved all through the meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
awesome! i followed the recipe - excpet for the following: replaced the soy sauce with Dales seasoning for meat and fish (its' soy based but as added flavor.) Also added chopped green onions (1/4 cup) and a 3/4 tsp rosemary. used fresh garlic (a must in my book!) i cooked the fish on a skillet. Turned the gas on high and let the pan heat up with a little bit of non-stick cooking spray on it. heres the best tip (got it from the man behind the fresh fish counter at Whole Foods) - turn the Tuna Steaks every 30 seconds for 3-5 minutes (depending on size of the steak)... perfectly cooked! DO NOT OVER COOK THESE. i had actually intially undercooked them (only 3 minutes). I wanted them to be cooked a little more, so i put them back in the frying pan and seared for 30 more seconds on each side. yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apjuice
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I added honey to the marinade as other cooks recommended and it charred nicely on the grill. I marinated for 24 hours and I could really taste the marinade. I used low sodium soy sauce as other cooks warned it would be too salty and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My son caught a Blue Fin Tuna yesterday off Cape Cod. We had never cooked tuna before and gave this recipe a try. It was excellent and everyone like it. I did marinate it for about 2 hours. Much longer than called for. Other than that I did everything as it was written. Thanks, I'll be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Love this recipe. The second time I made it I added fresh ginger (I peel and freeze it then take it out and grate when needed), a little sesame oil and sesame seeds and it was soo delicious. Greate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
It was a nice marinade,but I used the GEORGE fORMAN GRILL AND THE STEAKS WERE VERY DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I did reduce the soy just a little (it wasn't loy sodium) and I didn't want a very salty taste. I also added just a little honey and I am glad that I did. I wanted just a little sweet in the background. I had the dried herbs on hand so I used those. It turned out really well. I will definately be making this again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was my first time cooking tuna steaks and even though I over-cooked it a little bit, I thought the flavor of this was excellent (I'm not a big fish eater) and my husband (who loves fish) agreed. I made it on the Foreman grill and it was simple and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marinated Tuna Steak

See how to make grilled tuna steaks with a tangy marinade.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States