Marinated Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Perfect - I was looking for a simple tofu marinade and this worked just great. Plus, I had never baked tofu in the oven before and I loved it - I think I will always cook it this way! Thank you so much this was great. I had to make some changes b/c I didn't have all the ingredients and I added some veggies - but I will definitely try this one as is when I get more honey - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The tofu absorbed too much marinade and it was very salty. Our family prefers a crispier tofu and this was quite soggy after being baked. Not what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
mmm this was so good! i only let mine marinate for a few minutes because of time, and i only drizzled about one spoonful of remaining marinade into the rice. the honey balances it out perfectly. i also used brown rice instead of basmati and added brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I use low-sodium soy sauce or you can dilute the soy with water - half and half ratio as one other reviewer suggested. If you don't like the 'mushy' texture, this can be remedied by sliding it under the broiler for just a few minutes. Great, simple, tasty recipe that can be jazzed up by adding extra veggies or even seafood or meat of choice if you don't want a vegan version. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I would have to agree with Jessica - the tofu did turn out very mushy. Doubling the marinade and only marinating the tofu for an hour or so may have done the trick. Personally, I wasn't too thrilled with the overall flavor. I thought it turned out a bit boring and not tasty at all. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Definitely freeze the tofu and thaw before cooking this. Also, be sure to pat/squeeze the excess fluid out of the tofu before cooking. Otherwise it's a lot like eating a warm, wet sponge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I used half the soy sauce and replaced it with water. Also, I drizzled it with agave nectar. I usually prefer the nectar over honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good! I used a little more honey and I would recommend doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is pretty good. The flavor of the tofu is very strong and that makes it work in a wide variety of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this with Asparagus & Cashews from this site... it was tasty, though pretty salty (despite using low-sodium soy sauce). I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States