Marinated Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
used all ingredients organic. substituted low sodium organic tamari sauce for soy sauce. marinated 1 hour, turning tofu slices over every 15 min for even coverage. add veggie of choice to baking sheet and baked with the tofu. 1/2 the rice for fewer carbs. substituted agave nectar for honey as previously suggested. this came out restaurant quality! light, yet full of flavor! thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is pretty good. The flavor of the tofu is very strong and that makes it work in a wide variety of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this with Asparagus & Cashews from this site... it was tasty, though pretty salty (despite using low-sodium soy sauce). I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I would have to agree with Jessica - the tofu did turn out very mushy. Doubling the marinade and only marinating the tofu for an hour or so may have done the trick. Personally, I wasn't too thrilled with the overall flavor. I thought it turned out a bit boring and not tasty at all. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Delicious flavor! I didn't marinade it, just eye-balled the ingredients and baked it for 10 min. @ 425. Served it with stir fried veggies & rice. Topped it with sweet chilli sauce. Will definitely make it again. I may even plan to marinade overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I liked this very much and my husband liked it even more. I made a mistake though of not making sure all the slices of tofu are completely submerged in the marinade. The slices that were submerged all the way tasted so much better than the slices that had only some of the marinade on it. So I think I will quadruple this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Definitely freeze the tofu and thaw before cooking this. Also, be sure to pat/squeeze the excess fluid out of the tofu before cooking. Otherwise it's a lot like eating a warm, wet sponge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I use low-sodium soy sauce or you can dilute the soy with water - half and half ratio as one other reviewer suggested. If you don't like the 'mushy' texture, this can be remedied by sliding it under the broiler for just a few minutes. Great, simple, tasty recipe that can be jazzed up by adding extra veggies or even seafood or meat of choice if you don't want a vegan version. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
mmm this was so good! i only let mine marinate for a few minutes because of time, and i only drizzled about one spoonful of remaining marinade into the rice. the honey balances it out perfectly. i also used brown rice instead of basmati and added brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This tofu seemed extra mushy and I'm not a fan of that so for personal reasons, only 3 stars. Otherwise, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States