Marinated Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2000
This chicken was so good. But it is hard to tell when done. They tell you to cook it for 1 1/2hrs. but you need to cook at least 2 1/2hrs. the worst is cutting open the chicken at the table and it not being done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was delicious, everyone loved it! I will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This was difficult, I found some of the things it talked about I had to do a little research on before I could understand. I personally like learning new things, so didn't mind. The chicken turned out very good, but I have to ask myself if it's worth the time I put into it. I also had a porblem with truely understanding what the marinade was supposed be like. ALthough the chicken turned out fine, and I used the leftovers for a soup recipe I found here (5 star), the smell of it baking was a little overwhelming, unless you like the smell garlic, I wouldn't suggest cooking this when there's a lot of people around. :) Of course, I could have screwed something up to, but it turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Too many spices - too much marinade. This recipe called for a whole head of garlic! I love lots of garlic in certain things, but it overpowered the chicken. Where I come from, a bunch of parsley means a whole bouquet of parsley - that's a lot when you buy it in the store. I just used "sprigs" of parsley. The syntax confused me here. I suspect the recipe was a little off (you must cook the chicken longer than called for), and it was sooo garlicy that it stunk up everything in my refrigerator. It was fun to try, but I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe came out deeelicious, but I made some major changes. The objective is to marinate the chicken(which I cut up in 4 pieces)in a paste, not a liquid as the recipe stipulates. So forget about the wine and reduce the olive oil to 3 tablespoons. I also added the juice of the lemon I zested. The amount of parsley I used was about 1/2 cup after going through the food processor. All of the other herbs were dried. Also I only used 4 cloves of garlic and 1 tablespoon of pepper. I only marinated the chicken 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This actually needed very little basting! I used less wine, and just a tad of olive oil, in addition to the juice from the lemon. It cooked about 2 1/2 hrs, but I used only 1 chicken, and it was larger. Just have your thermometer handy and make sure it gets to 180 F. Good even with little marinating time. I forgot to salt the marinade, so if you're a saltaholic, don't do the same. Minimal hassle compared to other chickens I've cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very tasty and easy to make. I didn't even let it marinate that long and it was still delicious. When you're done with the lemon you "zested", poke some holes in it and stuff it into the cavity of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I loved the flavor and enjoyed making something new and different. I did have tons of marinate leftover and was wondering if I did something wrong. The color was a little funky (very green) but I had the chance to use my garden herbs which made it all worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Despite marinating the chicken for over 24 hours, the flavors just didn't get into the chicken. The aroma was good though. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I had the same problem as some of the others with the marinade...it just didn't flavor well. This was ok...I had hoped that the flavor of the marinade would be a lot stronger than it was...it just was too bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States