Marinated Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I used the 1 tbsp of garlic powder and dill weed, a whole packet of ranch, and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil version and I did not bake them and they turned out pretty good! I just let them marinate in a bag for awhile shaking it every so often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Way too much dill. It really ruined the pretzels. Go with suggestions if using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Addictive! I used the pretzel twist and added butter flavored oil instead of veggie oil. Next time will reduced the garlic and dill from 3 tbsp. to 2 tbsp. Saw no difference with the pretzels being baked or not. Will leave out the baking step. Marinate in Ziploc, coat oil evenly then coat with dry mix evenly, let stand for an hour or two to soak it all in and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I thought these were very good. I would add more pretzels though which would suit my taste. Also did a 1/2 c. oil, 1 T. each garlic powder and dill. I baked for an hour mixing every 15 minutes. They were a little to salty for me so next time I would not dump the bag of pretzels but leave out the salt that falls off and is in the bottom of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
i love these....what a classic, easy, crowd-pleasing snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I vary this recipe by adding 1-4 t of Cayenne Pepper and 1T of Onion Powder. I also have found that you need to add olive oil while baking to prevent a bunch of powder in the bottom of the pan. Everyone loves these. I've also found that, if they are going to be eaten within a few days, you can add butter while cooking and it makes them richer and smoother. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Well folks, I did some testing. My sister wants to serve these on the appetizer table at her wedding, so I did a trial run. First time I did three batches, using three different oils, and then baked half of each batch and let the other half unbaked. For each batch I used 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup oil, 1 package Ranch (I had the bulk stuff, so I used 3 T which is almost 1 oz), 1 T garlic, 1 T dill weed. I tried them with EVOO, veggie oil, and melted butter. Results? As far as the oils, I personally liked the EVOO best, but it isn't significantly better, so we are going with veggie oil for the wedding. Melted butter didn't work well. It clumped up and definitely needed baking. As far as baked vs unbaked, there was really no significant difference, other than I thought the baked ones tasted slightly burned. I baked at 250 for 28 minutes. Even with only 1 T garlic, the garlic was overwhelming. I just mixed up a second batch using 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup veggie oil, 4 T ranch mix (if you are using the packages, I'd just go with one package) and 3 T dill. Skipped garlic altogether. Didn't bake. Much better. These keep well, prob. for 2 weeks. Tip: get good quality dill. The first I got from a bulk food store, and it tasted like dried grass. Then I got some from Frontier Herbs, from a bulk bin at a health food store. It was much darker green, and is delicious. I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because of the huge garlic amount, and because it doesn't need baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Make sure you don't use buttered pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I have made this as is and altered it to suit us. We prefer the altered recipe. I cu the oil to 1/2 c, and cut spices to 1T each of dill, garlic powder, dry ranch dressing, and lemon pepper. I was asked for the recipe by several people. I marinated them in a plastic gallon bag for ease. I also baked my pretzels at 350 for only 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i think that it was easy and fun if you have to feed kids that like all the stuff then you should give it a try they will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States