Marinated Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
If you use mini-pretzels, don't use this recipe!!! I didn't read the reviews and put in the 3/3 garlic powder/dill and it was WAAAAYYYYYY too much! Next time I will try the 1/1. Note: if you think the pretzels have too much seasoning, you can put them in a brown paper bag and shake them. A lot of the seasoning came off and they were edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Way too garlicky! And I love garlic. Next time will try 1 Tbsp garlic and a different oil. Has potential for greatness though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Only change I made is using Orville Redenbachers popcorn oil. The biggest hit at our party last weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffjergy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I used the 1 tbsp of garlic powder and dill weed, a whole packet of ranch, and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil version and I did not bake them and they turned out pretty good! I just let them marinate in a bag for awhile shaking it every so often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Way too much dill. It really ruined the pretzels. Go with suggestions if using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Addictive! I used the pretzel twist and added butter flavored oil instead of veggie oil. Next time will reduced the garlic and dill from 3 tbsp. to 2 tbsp. Saw no difference with the pretzels being baked or not. Will leave out the baking step. Marinate in Ziploc, coat oil evenly then coat with dry mix evenly, let stand for an hour or two to soak it all in and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I thought these were very good. I would add more pretzels though which would suit my taste. Also did a 1/2 c. oil, 1 T. each garlic powder and dill. I baked for an hour mixing every 15 minutes. They were a little to salty for me so next time I would not dump the bag of pretzels but leave out the salt that falls off and is in the bottom of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
i love these....what a classic, easy, crowd-pleasing snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I vary this recipe by adding 1-4 t of Cayenne Pepper and 1T of Onion Powder. I also have found that you need to add olive oil while baking to prevent a bunch of powder in the bottom of the pan. Everyone loves these. I've also found that, if they are going to be eaten within a few days, you can add butter while cooking and it makes them richer and smoother. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Well folks, I did some testing. My sister wants to serve these on the appetizer table at her wedding, so I did a trial run. First time I did three batches, using three different oils, and then baked half of each batch and let the other half unbaked. For each batch I used 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup oil, 1 package Ranch (I had the bulk stuff, so I used 3 T which is almost 1 oz), 1 T garlic, 1 T dill weed. I tried them with EVOO, veggie oil, and melted butter. Results? As far as the oils, I personally liked the EVOO best, but it isn't significantly better, so we are going with veggie oil for the wedding. Melted butter didn't work well. It clumped up and definitely needed baking. As far as baked vs unbaked, there was really no significant difference, other than I thought the baked ones tasted slightly burned. I baked at 250 for 28 minutes. Even with only 1 T garlic, the garlic was overwhelming. I just mixed up a second batch using 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup veggie oil, 4 T ranch mix (if you are using the packages, I'd just go with one package) and 3 T dill. Skipped garlic altogether. Didn't bake. Much better. These keep well, prob. for 2 weeks. Tip: get good quality dill. The first I got from a bulk food store, and it tasted like dried grass. Then I got some from Frontier Herbs, from a bulk bin at a health food store. It was much darker green, and is delicious. I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because of the huge garlic amount, and because it doesn't need baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States