Marinated Pork Medallions with a Ginger-Apple Compote Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious! The pork comes out moist, tender and full of flavor - not at all dry unless you over cook it. Start off with a good quality balsamic vinegar and you can't go wrong. There is however a bit too much marinade. For about 2 lbs. of pork tenderloin I used 1 cup of balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup of olive oil. I left the amount of garlic and thyme the same and added some fresh rosemary as it pairs well. I pricked the tenderloin serveral times with a fork and sprinkled it with a bit of kosher salt and cracked black pepper, cut it up into pieces, then poured the marinade over top and let it go all day. The longer it marinates the better. The pork will basically soak up most of the marinade. This is very similar to "Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Balsamic Vinegar" from this site. So if you like this you'll like that one too. When cooking it on the grill I skewered it to make it easier to turn and cook evenly. For the compote, I used half the amount of butter, fresh cherries (15), 1/4 tsp. of ginger powder and eyeballed the cinnamon and nutmeg. The compote is very good. I could see using dried cherries or dried cranberries depending on your tastes. This is a definite keeper and will make you look like a star in front of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Adam, thank you for a really nice twist to a wonderful pork loin dinner. Rather than cutting up the meat into medallions, I left the loin whole. I did cut the marinade ingredients by about half and let it marinade for about 2 hours. There was still plenty of marinade and the longer the meat sat in the marinade, the more it absorbed and was so incredibly delicious and tender, that I didn't even need to use my knife. It was genuinely fork tender. I also cut the amount of butter in the compote and added reconstitued dried cranberries to the apples and ginger mix. This was a really nice side dish to the entree and my guests think I'm a kitchen genius, so thank you for making me look so good. I'll be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We loved the flavors. As others have pointed out, the quantity of marinade is excessive. I made half the recipe, put the 2 rather large tenderloins in a plastic container that fit them comfortably, and poured that half recipe on, and it was enough to submerge them. That's a convenient amount, but I think I could make only a fourth of the recipe from these costly ingredients and put them in a bag that can be turned over. Definitely make only a fourth for 1 tenderloin. The compote is great, and about the right amount for two tenderloins. Definitely do not slice the meat until after grilling. We grilled according to package directions. 10 minutes would not have been long enough on our gas grill at 400 -- more like 20 minutes. Quantity wrong, timing wrong - otherwise a very fine enhancement to the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
What a delicious dinner! I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and 1/4 balsamic vinegar to marinade the pork and it was plenty. I also marinated it overnight and left it whole until I served it. For the apple compote, I only used 2 tablespoons of butter, added some apple juice and used cranberries instead of cherries and it turned out fantastic! I served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a very delicious meal for four people! I used a pork tenderloin that was about 1.25 pounds (half of a Costco sealed bag) and all the recipe for the compote (minus the nutmeg because I didn't have any). The marinade, however, I cut in half and even froze half of that for another meal. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cut the tenderloin before marinating or after grilling, but I decided to cut before. I will try it whole the next time. Served over sticky (calrose) rice, this was one very yummy meal! (Well, my husband doesn't like rice, so I served his over a baked potato!) And I have more marinade in my freezer for another meal--the best of all possibilities! Thanks, Adam, for a very great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used 1/2 of a 6 lb pork loin--not a true tenderloin--sliced in half, then sliced 1/2" thick and pounded to 1/4" thick. I made about 1/3 the marinade for this amount of meat, and had no problems. For sweetest flavor, follow the recipe of 1/2 hr marinating in the fridge; for more tangy flavor in the meat, marinate on the kitchen countertop for 1 hr, up to 2 hrs. The thin, pounded medallions grill very quickly, so watch for overcooking--don't let them get hard and tough. Serve with a fresh steamed vegetable, crusty bread, and a nice Riesling, and be prepared for oohs and ahhs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This turned out fantastic! I think you can easily use half the amount of marinade if you are only making one pork tenderloin. I sliced my tenderloin into about 1 inch slices and marinated them that way so they absorbed more flavor. Cooking on grill really adds a nice flavor that you won't get if you cook on stove or in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Farmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Use Craisins (of any type) substitute for the cherries for an amazing twist to this already excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This flavor combination is excellent, but using 2 cups of balsamic vinegar and a cup of olive oil for a 30 minute marinade is ridiculously wasteful in my opinion. I just made the compote and put a couple of teaspoons of balsamic vinegar in it, and used some of the liquid to baste the pork when it was almost done. Turned out great. In retrospect the half cup of butter in the compote is also unnecessary excess. Next time I'll use a tablespoon or two of butter and some white wine or apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
A total winner. I think next time I would put 2 apples in the compote. We underestimated our new grill and over-cooked the meat a bit. Next time we will cook at a lower temp for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States