Marinated Pork Medallions with a Ginger-Apple Compote Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious and so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
A total winner. I think next time I would put 2 apples in the compote. We underestimated our new grill and over-cooked the meat a bit. Next time we will cook at a lower temp for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used 1/2 of a 6 lb pork loin--not a true tenderloin--sliced in half, then sliced 1/2" thick and pounded to 1/4" thick. I made about 1/3 the marinade for this amount of meat, and had no problems. For sweetest flavor, follow the recipe of 1/2 hr marinating in the fridge; for more tangy flavor in the meat, marinate on the kitchen countertop for 1 hr, up to 2 hrs. The thin, pounded medallions grill very quickly, so watch for overcooking--don't let them get hard and tough. Serve with a fresh steamed vegetable, crusty bread, and a nice Riesling, and be prepared for oohs and ahhs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This turned out fantastic! I think you can easily use half the amount of marinade if you are only making one pork tenderloin. I sliced my tenderloin into about 1 inch slices and marinated them that way so they absorbed more flavor. Cooking on grill really adds a nice flavor that you won't get if you cook on stove or in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Farmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We loved the flavors. As others have pointed out, the quantity of marinade is excessive. I made half the recipe, put the 2 rather large tenderloins in a plastic container that fit them comfortably, and poured that half recipe on, and it was enough to submerge them. That's a convenient amount, but I think I could make only a fourth of the recipe from these costly ingredients and put them in a bag that can be turned over. Definitely make only a fourth for 1 tenderloin. The compote is great, and about the right amount for two tenderloins. Definitely do not slice the meat until after grilling. We grilled according to package directions. 10 minutes would not have been long enough on our gas grill at 400 -- more like 20 minutes. Quantity wrong, timing wrong - otherwise a very fine enhancement to the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Use Craisins (of any type) substitute for the cherries for an amazing twist to this already excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
a great recipe for fall. Such robust flavors from simple ingredients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Marinated pork medallions - 5 stars................. Ginger apple compote - 3 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious! The pork comes out moist, tender and full of flavor - not at all dry unless you over cook it. Start off with a good quality balsamic vinegar and you can't go wrong. There is however a bit too much marinade. For about 2 lbs. of pork tenderloin I used 1 cup of balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup of olive oil. I left the amount of garlic and thyme the same and added some fresh rosemary as it pairs well. I pricked the tenderloin serveral times with a fork and sprinkled it with a bit of kosher salt and cracked black pepper, cut it up into pieces, then poured the marinade over top and let it go all day. The longer it marinates the better. The pork will basically soak up most of the marinade. This is very similar to "Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Balsamic Vinegar" from this site. So if you like this you'll like that one too. When cooking it on the grill I skewered it to make it easier to turn and cook evenly. For the compote, I used half the amount of butter, fresh cherries (15), 1/4 tsp. of ginger powder and eyeballed the cinnamon and nutmeg. The compote is very good. I could see using dried cherries or dried cranberries depending on your tastes. This is a definite keeper and will make you look like a star in front of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
What a delicious dinner! I only used 2 tablespoons of oil and 1/4 balsamic vinegar to marinade the pork and it was plenty. I also marinated it overnight and left it whole until I served it. For the apple compote, I only used 2 tablespoons of butter, added some apple juice and used cranberries instead of cherries and it turned out fantastic! I served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States