Marinated Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were very nice. I was expecting outstanding flavour for five stars though and this just didn't make it. Next time I would add sweet chilli sauce, more tomato and garlic. Fresh basil is a must! UPDATE: I have now modified this recipe to suit our family's taste and I have to say that it is worthy of 5* now. Instead of tomato sauce, I used a whole can of diced tomatoes, doubled the garlic, more basil, 1/4 cup sweet chilli sauce, 1 tblsn of red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup oil and pulsed the lot in my food processor. Verrryyy nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
913 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a super simple and yummy recipe. The only thing I did differntly is used ketchup instead of tomato sauce, as I didn't want to open a large can of tamato sauce for such a little amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
478 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
For a small Oscar Party I made an arrangement of skewer recipes. My friend Kristi ABSOLUTELY loved this one. But a word to the wise, if you for some reason not to grill the shrimp and instead make it on the stove, BIG mistake. I became lazy and mad waiting for my boyfriend and decided to use the stove and a skillet. It had to be scrapped, the grill allows some of the seasonings to air out especially the garlic and adds a great taste that can not be replicated on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME!!! Made these for a 4th of July party and they literally flew off the table. After reading other reviews, I used the largest shrimp I could find, replaced the tomato sauce with chili sauce, upped the cayenne pepper, marinated them for two hours and then grilled. People were raving about them and calling to each other to come try them. Definitely a success. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I marinated 1 lb. of shrimp (the frozen, peeled and deveined kind) in a full batch of the marinade (enough for 2 people). I used dried basil, white wine vinegar, and extra garlic. I then made a seperate double batch of the marinade with a huge piece of elephant garlic which I then emulsified in the blender and then heated on the stove. I cooked the shrimp in a skillet over medium-high heat until pink and served it over angel-hair pasta with the extra sauce and some parmesan cheese. My husband raved over it and even has me passing out the recipe to his co-workers!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
OMG, this is hands-down the best shrimp i have ever tasted in my whole entire life. this marinade is soooooo good..i think it's the combination of all the ingredients that makes this so tasty. i brushed the left-over marinade over the shrimp while it was on the grill. this recipe is highly recommended!!!!! TIP: even if you don't have time to let the shrimp marinate for one hour, just throw everything together and brush the rest of the marinade on the shrimp while its grilling...it still tastes amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Just perfect and delicious as written, though I didn't bother with skewers since I only made enough shrimp for hubby and myself. No need to change a thing, unless you feel some compelling desire to do so. Just enough flavor and seasoning--enough to be noticeable, but in a way that enhances the shrimp rather than overpowering its own wonderful and delicate flavor. This is an example of how using a few simple but flavorful and fresh ingredients is usually best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was very good! The first time we made it we used small pre-cooked shrimp and grilled it on the Foreman Grill (without skewers) and it came out great. The second time, we doubled the marinade and then cooked the shrimp and marinade in a skillet and poured it over rice. The heat made the sauce pretty thin so now I reserve 1/2 cup marinade and add one tablespoon cornstarch to it, then combine it all in the skillet. *TIP: One thing I do different is I only use a quarter or a third of the olive oil called for. It doesn't really add anything and it just kinda separates into this oily layer floating on top, not really blending with the tomato sauce. Now I usually quadruple the marinade (with the exception of the olive oil) when using the marinade as a sauce. We've also made this with small pieces of chicken and it is very good! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I'll admit, I was skeptical at first....the ingredients seemed a bit odd together. And then I ate it. WOW! This is fantastic, the BEST. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and it has gained the highest rating in my cookbook, "The Standard", which means look no more for a better recipe! It's the closest I've come to the best shrimp I've ever had in my life, which was at a Cozumel beach bar/grill and the owner was NOT coming out with the recipe. This makes me fantasize a little less about HIS shrimp. :) ADDENDUM 2/16/03----------Still LOVE this recipe, and I'm delighted to find that it turned out great after just two minutes in my George Foreman grill. Don't forget to soak the bamboo skewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Great stuff. The only thing I did differently was keep it in the fridge longer...I think it was almost 2 hours. I am a big seafood lover. Have to admit the cayenne pepper scared me a bit....but it was just the right amount. Thanks for a new shrimp meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

These easy shrimp have lots of flavor and a great little “kick.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States