Marinated Green Beans with Olives, Tomatoes, and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Double Wow! I made this refreshingly cool, colorful dish a day ahead for a Labor Day get together of some major 'foodies' - got rave reviews and was named "MVC" - Most Valuabe Cook - of the day! I had tiny pearl to grape size red and yellow tomatoes so I just crushed them slightly when I added them to the marinade ingredients. The dainty tomatoes really enhanced the presentation! Our small town did not have fresh oregano to offer, so I took a chance with dried oregano - the taste was still great. Also had to use regular olives this time - but this dish is a classic - it can be tweaked many ways with successful results. Will make again soon with the fresh herbs - and then again and again and . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Absolutely fantastic! The flavors are wonderful. I have made this twice and it does not stay around for more that two days before its eaten up. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was really good, even without the red wine vingegar. Which I forgot to add. Love the combination of all the ingredients. I don't recommend boiling the green beans for 8-10 minutes. 4 minutes and mine were perfect crisp tender, but then they were fresh this morning from the farm stand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I AM NOT A FAN OF GREEN BEANS BUT THIS WAS SO GOOD. I MADE IT 4 TIMES ALREADY. EVERYONE WHO TRIED IT LIKED IT.ITS IN THE FAVS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Terrific! I even passed this along to a friend and they loved it! Very yummy and flavorful! This is a dish the whole family will enjoy. Great to eat on day 2 if there are leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I blanched the beans, so the dish was wonderfully crunchy. I used black olives because I didn't have kalamata, and I added extra oregano. Also, I didn't have time to marinate it, and it was still excellent--but even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Everyone loved it - I would suggest making only enough to be eaten the same day it's made as the oil becomes hard when refrigerated. This was really tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was so good. I took it to a barbecue last night and it was a big hit. I didn't cook the beans as long either and I immediately put them in ice cold water after about 5 minutes. I forgot the fresh oregano and substituted dried. Next time I won't forget. I bet the fresh would make this salad even better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was an amazingly refreshing side dish. I served it with a grilled steak and it was perfect for a hot summer night. I also made the leftovers into a new lunch the next day. I took the leftovers and added a can of tuna, some red onion and a bit more vinegar and it was a hit! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
this dish is amazing, and so simple. i used grape tomatoes and cut them in half and cooked the olive/tomato/oregano mixture in the garlic for an additional 30 seconds to blend the flavors even more. definitely tastes better the next day, however when i make it again tonight, i will hold off on putting the feta on the salad until serving. i wish green beans were in season all year round, because this dish is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States