Marinated Five Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The flavoring is very tasty but next time I am going to do only 1/4 C of Slpenda and 1/4 C sugar. Noticed the Slpenda after taste. I will also cut oil in half and put water in its place. Going to company picnic. I hope they enjoy it. My 2 yr loves it and keeps asking for "more"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have made this many times since finding this recipe. My husband and I both love it! It is great for a high fiber diet. I reduced the red wine vinegar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup water, and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup. It still tastes great, but makes fewer calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I doubled the recipe, didn't use tarragon, cilantro or splenda. Substituted regular sugar for the splenda. Also, had no red wine vinegar so, since I doubled the recipe, I used 3/4c up red wine and white vinegar. Mixed it all up, let it set overnight in the fridge, perfect. Tastes like the salad my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Excellent! and SO easy! I did use regular granulated sugar instead of Splenda. I didn't bother to "cook" the sugar/vinegar...just whisked it until the sugar disolved. I am not a huge fan of cilantro...so I reduced to just 1 teaspoon. Otherwise...did not make any other changes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I swapped the Splenda out for regular old sugar and had to use oregano because I was out of tarragon but this is a yummy version of the classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a good recipe IF you can tolerate Splenda. I don't care for the taste of Splenda but hubby doesn't usually mind it. This was a bit too much "Splenda" taste - even for him .... I am rating this middle of the road, as it isn't a bad recipe, just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
AWESOME & easy... I was hoping to get to bring some home after the party... didn't happen... it was gone long before all of the other sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Oh heck to the yeah! WONDERFUL and no I did not and would not, change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is my mother-in-law's recipe, but use basil and NO cilantro. Very tasty and always a hit a pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States