Marinated Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I'm usually not really fond of marinated cucumbers, but I had SO many cucumbers from my Daddy's garden that I decided to try this recipe. It turned out very well! This is a recipe I would def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Growing up, a summer dinner table staple was always a bowl of cucumber and sliced onions, very close to this rendition. My mother used a simpler version. White vinegar, a little sugar and water and perhaps a pinch of salt and pepper. This recipe passes my nostalgia test with flying colours. I keep reading the word "refreshing" to describe this salad. It really is a refreshing side to any dinner. I followed the recipe as directed but unfortunately had no fresh rosemary. In fact, the dried rosemary I used was from a spice bottle that could have been stashed away at the back of my cupboard for some time. If anyone else opts for dried, remember to scale down the amount specified to approximately half of what is called for here using fresh. Knowing that some of my family members don't like the spiky pieces of dried rosemary, I used a sturdy plastic bag and a meat mallet to pulverize most of those bits. Next time I will use fresh. This is a wonderful addition to any meal. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Good base-marinade that's very adaptable. Adding a teaspoon of black pepper and cutting the vinegar a bit helped. Overall a good recipe to work from. Warning: For presentation, the dry spices tend to clump a bit after the marinated cucumbers sit for awhile. Makes kinda mutant-looking blobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
most delightful and refreshing! Thanks Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! I sometimes end up searching frantically for a recipe bc what I planned on didn't work, and that's what happened today. I was going to steam some carrots until I realized they were bad, so I switched to doing something with cucumbers. As a result, didn't let this sit for 4 hours before trying. I still really like it. Bf didn't, but he's not a fan of vinegar. I, however, love it, so I was pleased with all the flavors. I am sure I will like it even more after it has time to sit. I did halve the recipe since I only had about 1 huge cucumber total. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was a nice variation of the traditional vinegar marinated cucumbers. I added red pepper and cherry tomatoes to the mix and it turned out great. I didn't have dried oregano, so I used itallian seasoning instead, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
The herbs were too much. Not what I had hoped. I wanted just a little more varied taste to marinated cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Exactly what I was hoping for! I used the full amount of dressing for 2 extra large cucumbers and it was perfect. I prefer the cucs to be cut paper thin. Great compliment to the spicy Carolina pork BBQ I made along with this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I love me some good cuc's and this was, sadly, the biggest waste of fresh from the garden cucumbers ever. (Good thing I only used two cucumbers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States