Marinated Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
It’s gardening season at my house so I used fresh herbs instead of dried, six cloves of fresh garlic, the juice of one fresh squeezed lemon, around ¼ tsp. fresh cracked black pepper, unfiltered cider vinegar, a good squirt (around three tsp.) Dijon mustard, and only ½ of an onion that was about the size of tennis ball. Since this was a marinade, I decided to throw it all into the blender and frapped it. I took two large burpless cucumbers from the garden. Washed and peeled them and cut the length to about 1” shorter than the height of a one quart canning jar and ran them through my French fry cutter with the ½” blade in it. I then filled the jar with only the solid cucumber sticks, the seedy insides went to the juicer. I gave the marinade one last spin in the blender and poured it over the cucumbers, leaving about ½” headspace, vacuum sealed the jar, gave it a good shake and into the fridge it went for two days. You just can’t beat the flavor of fresh ingredients when they are available. The flavor was fantastic and this recipe went into my “Keeper” folder. I later poured the excess marinade over cut tomatoes and cucumbers that were fresh picked from the garden. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GhöstPepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a simple and easy recipe. My family loves it. Great for a hot summer day. My family loves it. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Pretty good! I did make a substitution of lemon zest and pepper in place of lemon-pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great refrigerator pickles recipe! Brought to a bbq and everyone loved it! Also great in daily lunch salads---instant dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
this was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
On the plus side I like the balance of sweet to sour. Sort of an unfair rating since it's based entirely on my particular taste, but I thought it was just too herby. Then DH tells me he likes my asian version the best, so this won't be a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Perfect blend of seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
We love cucumbers at our house. My husband isn't usually found of these kinds of "experiments" with cucumbers, but he likes this one quite a bit! I add a touch of Miracle Whip to this recipe to give it a little extra zing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We had an abundance of cucumbers in our garden this year. Made this recipe as an experiment. I usually don't like uncooked onions, but this was great! I doubled the oregano, and cut back on the sugar (which later I ended up adding back in). Put it in a large glass jar with a air-tight lid and it gets better every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe was GREAT! Just added a touch more oil, used apple cider vinegar and doubled the ground mustard. I also used more onion because we love them. FABULOUS side to a hot summer day's barbecue! Marinate for as long as you can. I made mine in the morning - it was in the fridge for about 6 hours. The flavors 'burst' out! Thanks Mary Helen for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States