Marinated Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe if the recipe is followed as is - no igredient substitutions. I've been making it for years - everyone always wants a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this as an appetizer for Christmas after one of my coworkers was telling me how wonderfully hers went over at our recent Christmas party (it was so good it was gone before I had a chance to try it). I used sharp cheddar, mozzarella, and cream cheese and followed everything to a "t" with the exception of using grilled red peppers and green zucchini marinated in oil (found a jar at the market) in place of the pimento and parsley. I marinated overnight in the fridge for 12+ hours. The smell of the white wine vinegar was completely overwhelming and the flavor was NOT appealing. I was really disappointed. I really don't think the vinegar should be in equal proportion to the oil. Needless to say only half was eaten (though my boyfriend and mom braved their way through most of that), and my aunt, who hosted, sent us back home with the other half. I wished the outcome was better, but I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wonderful recipe - everyone love it. SUGGESTION: I make double the marinade and divide in baggies. In addition to the cheeses I marinate mushrooms, steamed asparagus, steamed green beans and black olives. By dividing the marinade in baggies you can marinate individually. After marinating overnight, take each out of their bags (discard remaining marinade) and place on a platter. Presentation is beautiful when placed properly. I usually use roasted red peppers instead on pimentos simply because I usually have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have used this recipe for years and I'm in the middle of moving, and can't find it. Luckily I found it here. It is always a hit and a very nice looking appetizer. I especially love to take it to a potluck when I have a busy schedule the day of the event and don't have time to be in the kitchen. That way I make it the night before and it's ready to go when I am! It is good with Triscuits or melba toast or pretty much any cracker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
DIVINE! a bit labour intensive but the oohs and ahhs were worth it. It's KEY to freeze the cream cheese before cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Heaven on a cracker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very good, but I will make a few changes next time. Specifically, I will use more cream cheese, and if I use cheddar again, I will slice it thinner and longer. The cheddar never gets a texture where it becomes easy to use on a cracker or crostini; so next time, I'll just cut it directly into a shape that will work well with my breads. If you let it marinate for days on end, the oil solidifies, but you can just scrape it off and discard or just leave your cheese on display at room temperature and the oil solids melt again. Not a pleasant mental image, but doesn't hurt the flavor either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I went to a wine tasting last night and it was wonderful both tangy and creamy. I'm so glad I found the recipie. I read the other reveiews and the suggestions are spot on - use a dark colored plate to highlight the dish and you may want to replate as there is a lot of marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Delicious and unique appetizer! I recently served it at a party and everyone wanted the recipe. It's especially nice during the holidays. I serve with triscuits or wheat thins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This has been a favorite of mine for years. It's lovely and so, so good. The flavors are supposed to be strong, but I guess that doesn't work for everyone's palate. However, I have never served it without it disappearing quickly (and people begging for the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States