Marinated Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I marinated the cream cheese only and it was a hit. I had some extra marinade and I put some on my husband's sandwich the next day. I also made the marinade two days before the party. That really helps the flavors develop more. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is one of my favorite things to take to a party. It always gets rave reviews-especially from the women! I have layered cheddar, mozzarella and cream cheese or any combination. The cream cheese soaks up the flavor better than the other cheeses. i think soft cheeses absorb the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe if the recipe is followed as is - no igredient substitutions. I've been making it for years - everyone always wants a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this as an appetizer for Christmas after one of my coworkers was telling me how wonderfully hers went over at our recent Christmas party (it was so good it was gone before I had a chance to try it). I used sharp cheddar, mozzarella, and cream cheese and followed everything to a "t" with the exception of using grilled red peppers and green zucchini marinated in oil (found a jar at the market) in place of the pimento and parsley. I marinated overnight in the fridge for 12+ hours. The smell of the white wine vinegar was completely overwhelming and the flavor was NOT appealing. I was really disappointed. I really don't think the vinegar should be in equal proportion to the oil. Needless to say only half was eaten (though my boyfriend and mom braved their way through most of that), and my aunt, who hosted, sent us back home with the other half. I wished the outcome was better, but I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wonderful recipe - everyone love it. SUGGESTION: I make double the marinade and divide in baggies. In addition to the cheeses I marinate mushrooms, steamed asparagus, steamed green beans and black olives. By dividing the marinade in baggies you can marinate individually. After marinating overnight, take each out of their bags (discard remaining marinade) and place on a platter. Presentation is beautiful when placed properly. I usually use roasted red peppers instead on pimentos simply because I usually have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I have used this recipe for years and I'm in the middle of moving, and can't find it. Luckily I found it here. It is always a hit and a very nice looking appetizer. I especially love to take it to a potluck when I have a busy schedule the day of the event and don't have time to be in the kitchen. That way I make it the night before and it's ready to go when I am! It is good with Triscuits or melba toast or pretty much any cracker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
DIVINE! Very festive. Lots of oohs and ahhs for presentation. It's KEY to freeze the cream cheese before cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Heaven on a cracker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was very good, but I will make a few changes next time. Specifically, I will use more cream cheese, and if I use cheddar again, I will slice it thinner and longer. The cheddar never gets a texture where it becomes easy to use on a cracker or crostini; so next time, I'll just cut it directly into a shape that will work well with my breads. If you let it marinate for days on end, the oil solidifies, but you can just scrape it off and discard or just leave your cheese on display at room temperature and the oil solids melt again. Not a pleasant mental image, but doesn't hurt the flavor either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I went to a wine tasting last night and it was wonderful both tangy and creamy. I'm so glad I found the recipie. I read the other reveiews and the suggestions are spot on - use a dark colored plate to highlight the dish and you may want to replate as there is a lot of marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States