Marinated Barbequed Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The first time I made this, I made it exactly like the recipe says to make it, but it wasn't enough marinade and we didn't care for the eggplant. The way I make it now is I use one zuchini, one yellow squash, one red pepper and baby portabellas, and I double the marinade. The last time I made it, I added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper and some chopped fresh cilantro to the marinade, and after taking the vegetables out of it to put on the skewers, I threw some fresh shrimp into the marinade while I grilled the vegetables, and then grilled the shrimp and it was great! This is our new favorite way to have vegies and shrimp! Also, like other reviewers said, it is best to marinate in a large ziplock bag so you can flip it over to marinate really good, and dry basil works great in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This recipe was excellent. I added asparagus to the veggies. I marinated overnight which produced a much stronger lemon flavor, Yum. I also added salt and pepper and extra garlic to the marinade. My husband loved this recipe and it made for a quite colorful presentation. If you marinate overnight, you might not want to add the eggplant until the next morning as it overabsorbs the marinade and may be too strong in flavor for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Upgrading this to 5 stars. Should have edited my review a long time ago. It is the Eggplant that absorbs too much of the lemon flavour - so adjust accordingly. I now chop in large segments and grill on a bbq grill plate. Still love it... wonderfu!! I do add extra garlic :) and truly, although dried basil works, fresh is wonderful! lThe 4 stars is more from my way of preparing. Should not have left them to marinated as long as I did (about 3 hours)as the lemon taste was a tiny bit too strong. I also only had one clove of garlic, too bad, could have used more! The vegetable mix was wonderful. I love eggplant and you can do almost any vegie mix with this. Throw in a jalapeno for a little bite! Had only dried basil but it worked fine. Always marinate in a bag - so much easier to just flip it over. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wow - fabulous recipe! Grilled veggies are so good and this was very easy to put together. It really gave this already vibrant dish a nice herbed flavor. I added a little fresh rosemary along with the basil and I used some red and green peppers, red onion, and cherry tomatoes in addition to the other veggies. I put everything into a ziploc bag along with the marinade, tossed everything to coat and let it go for a couple of hours. I skewered the veggies and basted with the leftover marinade. Very simple and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I added squash which was great. The eggplant was pretty bitter - Normally with eggplant I put salt on the sections after cutting it, then rinse it off after 10 minutes. Somehow it neutralizes the flavor. I didn't do that this time and could definitely tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
This recipe was okay. If I make it again, I will double the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Simple yet delicious! I added salt & pepper to the marinade and skewered the vegetables (soak skewers ahead of time in water for 15-30 mins to prevent them from burning). Next time I will marinate longer than 1 hour for even more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I put the veggies & marinade in a big zip-loc & let them marinate in there...it's much easier to get them all coated in a baggie. I didn't skewer them but layed a piece of foil over my grill grate & poured them on. I added onions to the mix but otherwise didn't change a thing. Next time I will omit the eggplant because noone cared for it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Fantastic and easy to make! The longer it marinated, the better it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Guests enjoyed and complimented this. I still haven't found a recipe to out-do the old cheap Safeway brand of honey-mustard marinade. I added onion and grape tomatoes for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Vegetables

Get tips for cooking all kinds of fresh vegetables on the grill.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Pickled Grilled Vegetables

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States