Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved this sauce!! I have never used red whine or sugar in my sauce so this was a stretch to try something new since I was brought up and taught how to make sauce one way. I loved the flavor of the wine, subtle, not strong....and so easy to make. I soaked my Meatball Nirvana from this site in this and served over whole wheat spaghetti. Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was easy and delicious. I didn't have canned tomatoes so I used my tomatoes from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Andrejcak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This sauce was great and so easy, however I did add a little tomato paste to thicken it, a little chopped onion and oregano also. I don't think I will every buy store sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is the very beast sauce for a Sunday family dinner. I have made this recipe for years and everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Did you know, Old school Italians say it's bad luck to cut the basil with a knife, it must be torn as in this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was delicious! Next time I would also minimize the oil used, because like the other reviewer I had quite a bit floating around on top when all was said and done. I also reduced it uncovered for an extra 20 minutes after simmering to thicken it. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wednesday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I have several sauce recipes that we like but I was looking for a basic marinara. I used fresh ugly ripes, homemade wine and basil from my garden. I halved the sugar because the tomatoes were very sweet and didn't measure the oil but probably used a little less. After sauteing, I added the wine to the garlic and reduced it by about half before combining everything. I then simmered over an hour uncovered because we like a thicker consistency. I make this quite a bit for freezing. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Great marinara sauce! I cut down on the oil and added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I like my sauces a little bit thicker. This went great over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Best Marinara Sauce I've ever had period, and so incredibly easy to make! I had to make some modifications which might have enhanced or changed the flavor. I ran out of red wine so I had to use White Merlot (more of a rose wine). In addition, I am garlic intolerant so I used half of a finely chopped shallot instead. Served it over a turkey meatball recipe I got from Joy of Cooking and it was just perfect! I'm never buying bottled sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLYNNZIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Great recipe... the only change was to use only 1 tbsp oil and added 3/4 of 6 oz can of tomato paste I had in the fridge to thicken it. It was perfect! Flavor was great, the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States