Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Great marinara sauce! I cut down on the oil and added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I like my sauces a little bit thicker. This went great over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Best Marinara Sauce I've ever had period, and so incredibly easy to make! I had to make some modifications which might have enhanced or changed the flavor. I ran out of red wine so I had to use White Merlot (more of a rose wine). In addition, I am garlic intolerant so I used half of a finely chopped shallot instead. Served it over a turkey meatball recipe I got from Joy of Cooking and it was just perfect! I'm never buying bottled sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Great recipe... the only change was to use only 1 tbsp oil and added 3/4 of 6 oz can of tomato paste I had in the fridge to thicken it. It was perfect! Flavor was great, the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Fantastic. pealed some fresh tomatoes and added some flower to thicken the sauce and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The sauce taseted alot like wine and was very bland. I would not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Good basic marinara sauce. Very fresh tasting. I doubled this recipe. Instead of adding water, I added tomato sauce. I also added two minced onions and sauteed them in the EVOO with the garlic. I paired this sauce with Lovestohost's Meatball Nirvana, served over whole wheat pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
VERY VERY VERY good and very easy. Whole family enjoyed including my four year old. I did have to use dried basil b/c I had no fresh on hand.... we all loved it though. Thx for GREAT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Not bad, but the wine was a little strong. I used a Cabernet, so maybe something different would taste better. I simmered the sauce with some frozen meatballs to serve over polenta for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I probably commited some horrible chef sin, but it paid off. I used white wine instead of red wine. I had just worked out and had no energy to drive to the store. Nevertheless, the flavor enhancement of the white wine was spectacular, just enough zing to change this from everyday marinara sauce to something special. We really enjoyed it. I only used two tablespoons of olive oil, to reduce the fat a bit and also added a small can of tomato paste (to thicken the sauce) and a pound of ground turkey. My wife and son both thought it was excellent and I will definitely repeat this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This tasted like the marinara sauce from Maggianos. I used dried Italian seasoning blend as I like the flavor. WIll use fresh basil when I have it in summer. It is really tasty and I will make it often. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States