Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
So much for the cheap canned red sauce I usually use on pasta for an easy week night meal. This is just as quick to make and 100 times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
It tasted good as made, but I like more spices in the sauce. So I added a teaspoon each of Italian seasoning, oregano, and basil leaves. Did not have any fresh basil. Did not use the sugar. Also put one onion in the processor while mincing the garlic. I used a burgandy wine. Making it again today. Everyone really loved it. Thank you for a great basic recipe to go on, the wine is what makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
IDK what happened to mine but it came out really really thin like a soup. It was delicious none the less. I agree with the other posters who used less oil. To me it felt more than tasted oily but it was still very good. Honestly I kind of liked it as a soup if I made it again and turned out the same way (soup) I think i would add chunks of old bread to it so this delicious recipe can now have two purposes bread or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This sauce is very light & fresh. A new favorite of mine!! It is so simple and quick, I was very surprised at how good it was. I reduced the wine (it was my dad's, I didn't want to use it up, lol!) and used 4tsp of dried basil. I cannot wait to try it with fresh basil!! Deff a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This marinara sauce reminded me of what you'd find in an italian restaurant! I had a plum tomatoe that was starting to shrivel up, so I chopped it up and threw that in. An easy sauce recipe that's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
good,easy, basic marinara sauce, but I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
this was delicious! it's so easy to make. i followed the suggestions of others and only used 1 tablespoon on evoo, i also added dried basil in with the other ingrdients so the flavor could simmer for a longer time. at first i thought the taste of the wine was overpowering but after leaving it overnight the flavors really mixed well and it's even tastier! i served it on top of ravioli, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Not the usual heavily tomato sauced version, and that is great. It simmered and cooked down, but was still not as thick as some sauces, which is what I was after. I use this as my basic sauce for recipes which include a jar of spaghetti sauce, and wow, what a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very good marinara sauce. My Italian In-Laws loved this sauce. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved this sauce!! I have never used red whine or sugar in my sauce so this was a stretch to try something new since I was brought up and taught how to make sauce one way. I loved the flavor of the wine, subtle, not strong....and so easy to make. I soaked my Meatball Nirvana from this site in this and served over whole wheat spaghetti. Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States