Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
good,easy, basic marinara sauce, but I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
this was delicious! it's so easy to make. i followed the suggestions of others and only used 1 tablespoon on evoo, i also added dried basil in with the other ingrdients so the flavor could simmer for a longer time. at first i thought the taste of the wine was overpowering but after leaving it overnight the flavors really mixed well and it's even tastier! i served it on top of ravioli, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Not the usual heavily tomato sauced version, and that is great. It simmered and cooked down, but was still not as thick as some sauces, which is what I was after. I use this as my basic sauce for recipes which include a jar of spaghetti sauce, and wow, what a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very good marinara sauce. My Italian In-Laws loved this sauce. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved this sauce!! I have never used red whine or sugar in my sauce so this was a stretch to try something new since I was brought up and taught how to make sauce one way. I loved the flavor of the wine, subtle, not strong....and so easy to make. I soaked my Meatball Nirvana from this site in this and served over whole wheat spaghetti. Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was easy and delicious. I didn't have canned tomatoes so I used my tomatoes from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This sauce was great and so easy, however I did add a little tomato paste to thicken it, a little chopped onion and oregano also. I don't think I will every buy store sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is the very beast sauce for a Sunday family dinner. I have made this recipe for years and everyone raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Did you know, Old school Italians say it's bad luck to cut the basil with a knife, it must be torn as in this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was delicious! Next time I would also minimize the oil used, because like the other reviewer I had quite a bit floating around on top when all was said and done. I also reduced it uncovered for an extra 20 minutes after simmering to thicken it. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wednesday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States