Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very, very good just the way it is written! It's my kids' favorite sauce now (I prefer chunky sauces, but this is perfect for a light pasta meal, or dipping mozzarella sticks or rustic bread). I bought a small basil plant so I have the fresh herb whenever we want this tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Very tasty and simple. Definitely comes out a bit thin as described; I made a double batch but rather than using 32oz crushed tomatoes, I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and 12oz tomato paste for thickness. I added a little extra garlic and a quarter teaspoon dried oregano to make up for the added tomato, and cut the amount of olive oil in half (it's plenty oily that way), but otherwise used the listed ingredients and quantities. Next time I will probably add more herbs. The flavor is simple but gets a nice dimension from the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Super easy - but kind of sweet. I would have like a bit more seasonings. Will add a blend of Italian seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have been looking for a good red sauce recipe. I finally found it. I used holland house red cooking wine and added a bit of tomato paste when I noticed it wasn't thickening up like I am used too. Fresh basil is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Taste of red wine overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was the first time that I have made marinara sauce. I had to make a few changes, just because I didn't have the exact ingredients. I used tomato sauce instead of tomatoes and I used red wine vinegar and added an extra teaspoon of sugar. My very picky husband raved about it and went back for seconds. We had this over Italian sausage with peppers and onions and wheat penne pasta. I will definitely be making it again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Yum! This is our new favourite marinara sauce. I think everything tastes better with wine ;) And my kids and husband really love this sauce too. I usually make a double batch and freeze some. I also add tomato paste to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I give this sauce 5 stars! I did add a small can of tomato paste with oregano, basil and parsley. I used a pinot noir wine and I didn't have any fresh parsley so I used dried. We are planning to use this sauce along with an alfredo sauce for a wedding we are catering later this month. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimix6
Home Town: Moody, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Yummy! My kids really loved it with meatballs over penne pasta. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States