Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
my family really loved this recipe, I thought it was okay. I also didn't have freash basil so I used 1 tsp of dryed basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I doubled the recipe because I could only find 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I only used 21/2 TBSP of oil, however. I followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and it came out with a very good taste, given the few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was the most amazing Sauce I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Added onion w garlic. A pinch of oregano--perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I have made this twice now. the first time I made as directed using diced tomatoes that I canned last year from my garden. It was wonderful. My husband loved it and he normally doesn't like Italian sauces. The second time I didn't have any more diced tomatoes so I used a jar of stewed tomatoes that I canned last year and I had some fresh tomatoes that need to be used out of garden this year. After letting this simmer until ready I took my stick blender and blended it smooth. It absolutely to die for. I am using it to make meatball sandwiches. I will be using this recipe often. Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very, very good just the way it is written! It's my kids' favorite sauce now (I prefer chunky sauces, but this is perfect for a light pasta meal, or dipping mozzarella sticks or rustic bread). I bought a small basil plant so I have the fresh herb whenever we want this tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Very tasty and simple. Definitely comes out a bit thin as described; I made a double batch but rather than using 32oz crushed tomatoes, I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and 12oz tomato paste for thickness. I added a little extra garlic and a quarter teaspoon dried oregano to make up for the added tomato, and cut the amount of olive oil in half (it's plenty oily that way), but otherwise used the listed ingredients and quantities. Next time I will probably add more herbs. The flavor is simple but gets a nice dimension from the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Super easy - but kind of sweet. I would have like a bit more seasonings. Will add a blend of Italian seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have been looking for a good red sauce recipe. I finally found it. I used holland house red cooking wine and added a bit of tomato paste when I noticed it wasn't thickening up like I am used too. Fresh basil is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States