Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was OK, but a lot heavier than I think of marinara being. I would use as a regular pasta sauce, but it's just too much for dipping or lighter pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was just the kind of recipe I was looking for. Basic, and one that I could customize as I wanted to. I didn't have any red wine on hand so used some chardonnay and I think it tasted great. I also added some onion, zucchini and baby portobello mushrooms. I simmered for an hour or so so it would thicken. Really good, simple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very good and super easy! I subbed brown sugar for white, and used this sauce for baked ravioli. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Alright alright alright...I was having my doubts when I was in the middle of making it. Thought maybe it was because I had doubled the recipe and used canned tomatoes (2 28-oz cans). It was looking rather thin so I added another 6 oz of tomato paste. Even at the end, was still doubtful because the color wasn't your typical marinara color. Then I tasted it. Yeah, it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYL70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Nice aftertaste, rather subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I added 1 medium onion and omitted the wine. I also grated in half a carrot for a little sweetness. Next time I'll leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
my family really loved this recipe, I thought it was okay. I also didn't have freash basil so I used 1 tsp of dryed basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I doubled the recipe because I could only find 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I only used 21/2 TBSP of oil, however. I followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and it came out with a very good taste, given the few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was the most amazing Sauce I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Added onion w garlic. A pinch of oregano--perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States