Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
very nice basic marinara. I didn't have fresh basil so used 1 tsp. of dried. Also added some fresh chopped parsley and 1 more clove of garlic, as I love garlic flavor. This had a nice fresh taste. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to use much less EVOO..maybe 1 tbsp. is all that is needed. I found the extra was just floating around on top but it didn't taste 'greasy' though. I would also double the recipe. After I let it cook down to the consistency that I like (on the thicker side) it was enough for 3 people which was fine. Very nice. thanks for the quick and easy recipe. It is amazing how flavorful this was with such few ingredients. I used a sangria(was all I had) and the extra sweetness I think helped so it was not tart at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Great marinara sauce! I cut down on the oil and added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste. I like my sauces a little bit thicker. This went great over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Very very good. I served it with spaghetti. The reason I gave it a five is b/c it had so much flavor. I added some garlic powder and I left out the half cup of water. I thought it would make it to runny. Mine turned out great. I froze the leftovers for next time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Great simple recipe. At the last minute I realised I'd run out of red wine so used white. Only used 2 tbsp of oil. We had this with quick gnocchi from this site. Will use on pasta soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I probably commited some horrible chef sin, but it paid off. I used white wine instead of red wine. I had just worked out and had no energy to drive to the store. Nevertheless, the flavor enhancement of the white wine was spectacular, just enough zing to change this from everyday marinara sauce to something special. We really enjoyed it. I only used two tablespoons of olive oil, to reduce the fat a bit and also added a small can of tomato paste (to thicken the sauce) and a pound of ground turkey. My wife and son both thought it was excellent and I will definitely repeat this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was the best marinara sauce I have ever had! I left out the oil and used garlic from a jar. I also let it simmer for about 60 minutes. I served this over Gnocchi I from this site. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I added sliced baby portabellos as I was sauteeing the garlic at the beginning of this recipe and I think it was a good addition for a change. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This tasted like the marinara sauce from Maggianos. I used dried Italian seasoning blend as I like the flavor. WIll use fresh basil when I have it in summer. It is really tasty and I will make it often. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was excellent. I used fresh roma tomatoes instead of canned. It was a little runny but I think that was because of the fresh tomatoes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Excellent and easy. I used it for a quick sauce to make eggplant parm, and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States