Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Good basic marinara sauce. Very fresh tasting. I doubled this recipe. Instead of adding water, I added tomato sauce. I also added two minced onions and sauteed them in the EVOO with the garlic. I paired this sauce with Lovestohost's Meatball Nirvana, served over whole wheat pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
VERY VERY VERY good and very easy. Whole family enjoyed including my four year old. I did have to use dried basil b/c I had no fresh on hand.... we all loved it though. Thx for GREAT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Not bad, but the wine was a little strong. I used a Cabernet, so maybe something different would taste better. I simmered the sauce with some frozen meatballs to serve over polenta for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I probably commited some horrible chef sin, but it paid off. I used white wine instead of red wine. I had just worked out and had no energy to drive to the store. Nevertheless, the flavor enhancement of the white wine was spectacular, just enough zing to change this from everyday marinara sauce to something special. We really enjoyed it. I only used two tablespoons of olive oil, to reduce the fat a bit and also added a small can of tomato paste (to thicken the sauce) and a pound of ground turkey. My wife and son both thought it was excellent and I will definitely repeat this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This tasted like the marinara sauce from Maggianos. I used dried Italian seasoning blend as I like the flavor. WIll use fresh basil when I have it in summer. It is really tasty and I will make it often. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was delicious. As a garlic lover I doubled the garlic...still could of used more, but that's more personal taste. I also used San Marzano tomatoes....sweet and flavourful. Will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
RECIPE WAS EASY TO DO AND TASTE GREAT! WILL BE USED IN RESTAURANT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was the best marinara sauce I have ever had! I left out the oil and used garlic from a jar. I also let it simmer for about 60 minutes. I served this over Gnocchi I from this site. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
very good, quick and simple! My kids loved it cold with broccoli, cheese sticks and pepperoni to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Good, fast, simple recipe. I added ground beef to make a meat sauce for Spaghetti. It was OK on the spaghetti (a little thick), but was fantastic for dipping bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States