Marinara Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was a great sauce. I'm sure there are better ones out there, but it impressed me quite a bit. I've used canned/jarred sauces for a long time, and I'm not sure I'd ever actually prepared a marinara recipe before this. I made this exactly as written (the step about breaking apart the whole tomatoes by hand was a new thing to me), except that my skillet was pretty full, and when covered it bubbled over a couple of times, so I left it uncovered for about the latter half of the cooking time. Oh, I polished off the last 2 cloves of an ordinary head of garlic, so for the other 2 cloves, I used an heirloom garlic for the first time ever - not that I could tell the difference in the finished sauce. I was surprised to realize that this sauce didn't use oregano at all, but I didn't wind up missing it. This lasted me for 4 or 5 meals, and it was just fine when reheated. This is worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great marinara sauce and super easy! I added finely diced carrots and it tasted like true Italian marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but found it a "missing something." I added in 1 and 1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder and it tasted incredible. The only two things I would possibly change to use it as a spaghetti sauce would be a) keeping the liquid from the whole tomatos out, as Nadine mentioned above, and 2) adding in some meat. Otherwise, it is amazing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rylandmadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Büdingen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very good and easy!!! I added an additional half tsp of Italian seasoning. Will be my go to Marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow! This was really fantastic! This one earned a place in the recipe box for sure...will absolutely be making this again and again. I made minor changes: used 2 (28 oz) cans of petite diced tomatoes, added 1 small can of tomato paste, used Italian seasoning (was out of basil), and used canola oil (only because I didn't have any olive oil). I also let this reduce down a bit because we like our sauce a bit on the thicker side...next time, I might drain the tomatoes. We also don't care for big chunks of tomatoes so I threw it in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I was looking for a marinara sauce to dip my mozarella cheesesticks (from this website) in this evening. I have to say...this was amazing!!! The only thing I did differently was chop the potatoes in the ninja before adding to pan and added about tablespoon of brown sugar as per another reviewer. It was so good!!! There is much left over, so I will use it in the lasagna my husband and I are making tomorrow (also from this website...Bob's Awesome Lasagna). Thank you so much for recipe. Don't think we will be buying the jar or can anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
my hubby really liked this sauce I put it on top of chicken parmazan. I thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is the best sauce, I've ever made. I did use chunky style ground peeled tomatoes in place of whole peeled tomatoes. I also used one large sweet onion instead of just half. Everything else I did the same. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Made this tonight and it was great on baked eggplant parmesan! Instead of crushed tomatoes I used tomato sauce and added extra garlic. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
wonderful sauce, goes with everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States