Marinara Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Basic marinara recipe. I always tweak a recipe so I added tons of fresh herbs from my greenhouse. I also started with onion, then added garlic and my homemade roasted canned red pepper. Added bay leaf too. No marinara is good without bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
A very good simple sauce. I blended everything, including the garlic and parsley. Simmered the mixture for about 30 minutes. Left out the wine as I didn't want to open a bottle, and it was still great. Added a pinch of sugar. Served with Meatball Nirvana from this site and spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a great base recipe to bend and make more personal. I sauteed fresh minced onion in with the garlic and I added a good amount of basil and oregano as well as red pepper flake and a pinch of brown sugar for sweetness. The longer this cooks, the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Great sauce base. I used diced tomatoes instead of whole, and threw in an extra clove of garlic because I love garlic, and it's great for your circulation! (So is a glass of smooth red wine, which goes well with this sauce) Along with the parsley, I added fresh basil, about 1/3-1/2 cup chopped/packed. Also added a pinch of thyme and a pinch of sage. Marvelous flavor. The red wine in the sauce adds extra depth. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
THIS is THE BEST marinara sauce EVER!! .. I use crushed tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes, and mix everything as it's heating up directly in the saucepan .. no need to use a blender at all .. (just find/choose a chunkier canned crushed tomato for the best consistency) .. LOVE IT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Tangy is definitely the best way to describe this recipe. It was a bit too tart for my tastes so I added about a tbsp of brown sugar and that really seemed to help. My boyfriend liked it fine before the brown sugar so that's just a matter of taste, I suppose. We ate it over spaghetti with Italian sausage (cooked separately) the first night. Everybody liked it. The next day, I cooked up some ground beef with a pinch of salt, drained it, and added the leftover sauce and that made a lovely lunch. No leftovers! That's always a good sign. I may make this again, but I will probably try the other recipes on this site first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made the sauce as the recipe instructed, and it was a very good basic sauce. It does have a bit of zing to it, as others have said, but I made it to go with arancini and it really complemented it. This sauce is good as is, but those who think it is too tangy can simply use the recipe as a basis for something on which to expand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Excellent! I found that the edges of the sauce started to burn after 4.5 hours in the crockpot on low (this just may be my crockpot, all are variably different). Next time I would do low for 3.5 hours. I used this over turkey meatballs and made a pizza with some the next day. The rest I am freezing for another night. Has a lot more zing and freshness than jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
this was delicious! i like onions so added 1/2 onion and 2 chopped shallots, 1/4 c. cabernet wine and some fresh basil, finely chopped. so sweet and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I used concentrated crushed tomatoes for a smoother sauce in this recipe. I added a small amount of sauteed garlic and italian seasonings. It still was a little bland to me. I will continue to try the other marinara recipes on this site for "the one".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States