Marinara Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
After it was done cooking I drained the extra water and added 10oz. tomato paste and cooked it an extra 10 minutes. It was the best marinara sauce I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Excellent simple, fresh sauce! I needed a bit more than the recipe made, so I used about 10 plum tomatoes, and chopped about 15-20 leaves of fresh basil. Also, I avoid sugar like the plague, so I add a pinch of ground cloves to counteract the acidity of the tomatoes, a trick told to me by my Italian neighbor. Made a really yummy marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Delicious! My husband -who doesn't like tomato sauces that much -loved it. I added a hot pepper in to the sauce (because I love a little kick) and ended up actually serving it over pasta. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dramaqueenjs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
LOVED IT!!! And I couldn't even follow the recipe right - had no tomatoes, so used 1 can tomato paste, no fresh basil, so used 1 tsp dried basil, no fresh garlic, so 1/4 tsp powdered, 1/2 c. water and salt & pepper to taste. Still....turned very YUMMY! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I have used this recipe over and over again. My daughter has a food day at school and we make it and send with a loaf of french bread. I've also served it with shrimp and pasta. Many other possibilities also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
This is an excellent marinara sauce. As with any marinara sauce, it is thinner, but not "watery" as one of the reviews read. This is excellent served as a dipping sauce with foccacia bread. Thanks Jackie for creating this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I omitted the water, and added a small can of tomato paste... I also doubled the recipe, and had to double the sugar--excellent! We had it with toasted raviloi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I too added one can of tomato paste just to give it some extra thickness for dipping. That was a great suggestion!! I will for sure make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The key to making this sauce is the simmering time. As stated, 45 minutes need to pass before serving the sauce. Cooking uncovered is a must! If you have tomatoes from your garden this sauce will highlight the sweetness of them. Wonderful sauce! The only recommendation I have is to make extra! ;) I've added zucchini and it rocked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I make this whenever I have leftover tomatoes, or tomatoes I've frozen for future use. It's simple, easy and very tasty. Depending on the sweetness of the tomatoes I omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueBeeDoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States