Marinara Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
After it was done cooking I drained the extra water and added 10oz. tomato paste and cooked it an extra 10 minutes. It was the best marinara sauce I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I have used this recipe over and over again. My daughter has a food day at school and we make it and send with a loaf of french bread. I've also served it with shrimp and pasta. Many other possibilities also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Excellent simple, fresh sauce! I needed a bit more than the recipe made, so I used about 10 plum tomatoes, and chopped about 15-20 leaves of fresh basil. Also, I avoid sugar like the plague, so I add a pinch of ground cloves to counteract the acidity of the tomatoes, a trick told to me by my Italian neighbor. Made a really yummy marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a well deserved 5 star rating. After reading all the reviews, I'm seeing MANY who didn't even follow the recipe -so don't allow any low ratings to impact your decision. If you follow the directions and use the stated ingredients you'll get a fresh marinara sauce that is bursting w/ flavour!!! Simple way to peel the tomatoes - cut a shallow X in the bottom of each tomato, and submerge in boiling water for about 15-20 seconds. Remove and submerge into ice water to stop the cooking process then peel the tomatoes. You don't really have to even bother chopping them. I mashed mine down w/ a potato masher. At first I thought it looked too watery and didn't want to add in the 1/4 cup water - DON'T make this mistake!!! You DO want to add in the water. Also you DO want to cover and simmer for the full 45 minutes - this is what allows the lycopene from the tomatoes to develop. I used 1/8 tsp black pepper and 1/4 tsp salt and found it to be the perfect amount. I waited until the last 10 minutes to add in the basil as fresh herbs lose their flavour if cooked too long. My only complaint...it doesn't make enough! As is it *might* make 1/2 cup (based on the size of tomatoes used)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Added a little chopped onion, was great! Next time I'll try adding tomato paste, as other reviewer suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Simmer uncovered to evaporate the water, but keep a close eye on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The key to making this sauce is the simmering time. As stated, 45 minutes need to pass before serving the sauce. Cooking uncovered is a must! If you have tomatoes from your garden this sauce will highlight the sweetness of them. Wonderful sauce! The only recommendation I have is to make extra! ;) I've added zucchini and it rocked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I too added one can of tomato paste just to give it some extra thickness for dipping. That was a great suggestion!! I will for sure make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I omitted the water, and added a small can of tomato paste... I also doubled the recipe, and had to double the sugar--excellent! We had it with toasted raviloi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
I needed a sauce for my homemade mozzarella sticks and found this to be easy and very complimenting to my appetizer. Very fresh too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States