Marinara Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by megandanielle
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this today and it's the best marinara I've ever had! I used 3 tomatoes and 2 6oz cans of tomato paste, instead of the 5 tomatoes it called for. I also added some Parmesan cheese and added some of my own spices (oregano, etc). Definitely going to try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I don't think I'd ever made my own marinara, and gave this a try. My big complaint was that the results were too watery. Probably either the "1/4 cup water" should be omitted, or the simmering time should be uncovered instead of covered. As it was, I simmered for maybe another 20 minutes and it was still watery. It might just be a factor of what "low heat" is on my range compared to the recipe submitter's. Also, I thought the results were a little too chunky for a marinara, but perhaps my tomatoes weren't "finely chopped" enough. I consumed this with a lot of slices of asiago-topped baguette, as a true dipping sauce. This was a nice introduction to making a marinara, and I liked it, but I wasn't too impressed - I've had much better versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
this came out wonderfully.. i used blondeprincess' trick on how to peel the tomatoes.. the whole boiling for 15-20 seconds with the X at the bottom.. super helpful! i thew the tomatoes in my lil mini chopper until smooth and then added them to the sauteed garlic.. only had dried basil.. omitted the sugar.. and added a couple of dashes of rosemary.. did add the water in even though i was uber compelled to leave it out.. ty so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is a well deserved 5 star rating. After reading all the reviews, I'm seeing MANY who didn't even follow the recipe -so don't allow any low ratings to impact your decision. If you follow the directions and use the stated ingredients you'll get a fresh marinara sauce that is bursting w/ flavour!!! Simple way to peel the tomatoes - cut a shallow X in the bottom of each tomato, and submerge in boiling water for about 15-20 seconds. Remove and submerge into ice water to stop the cooking process then peel the tomatoes. You don't really have to even bother chopping them. I mashed mine down w/ a potato masher. At first I thought it looked too watery and didn't want to add in the 1/4 cup water - DON'T make this mistake!!! You DO want to add in the water. Also you DO want to cover and simmer for the full 45 minutes - this is what allows the lycopene from the tomatoes to develop. I used 1/8 tsp black pepper and 1/4 tsp salt and found it to be the perfect amount. I waited until the last 10 minutes to add in the basil as fresh herbs lose their flavour if cooked too long. My only complaint...it doesn't make enough! As is it *might* make 1/2 cup (based on the size of tomatoes used)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Basic, easy, and people liked it! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Added a little chopped onion, was great! Next time I'll try adding tomato paste, as other reviewer suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Excellent simple, fresh sauce! I needed a bit more than the recipe made, so I used about 10 plum tomatoes, and chopped about 15-20 leaves of fresh basil. Also, I avoid sugar like the plague, so I add a pinch of ground cloves to counteract the acidity of the tomatoes, a trick told to me by my Italian neighbor. Made a really yummy marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I make this whenever I have leftover tomatoes, or tomatoes I've frozen for future use. It's simple, easy and very tasty. Depending on the sweetness of the tomatoes I omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueBeeDoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The key to making this sauce is the simmering time. As stated, 45 minutes need to pass before serving the sauce. Cooking uncovered is a must! If you have tomatoes from your garden this sauce will highlight the sweetness of them. Wonderful sauce! The only recommendation I have is to make extra! ;) I've added zucchini and it rocked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I thought this turned out pretty good. I made it with some tomatoes that were given to me from a friends garden. I had 1 3/4 lb of tomatoes. I like sweet/garlicky sauces so i added extra garlic and sugar. instead of 1t of sugar i added 1 1/2 T of white sugar and 1/2 T brown sugar. I also added the can of tomato paste as well as 1/4t of beef bouillon. i would have used beef broth instead of water but i didn't have any. I also used about 1/2t dried basil instead of the fresh. it turned out pretty good but didn't fulfill everything i was looking for in a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States