Marinade for Steak II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Quite tasty! I let the steaks marinate for more than 24 hours and used the leftover sauce to baste while they were on the grill. It gives the meat a tangy taste without it being overpowering. I also used the fresh garlic. Give it a try, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
WOW. I used this on some arm steaks that my wife got on sale. I was a little worried about how tough the steak might be, but it turned out great, and the marinade was a BIG hit. Only problem was I put in a little TOO much hot sauce -- now I know better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
awesome recipe,,, i've been looking for a marinade made with molasses for a while. Tried it on beef Kabobs found it outstanding. For the faint of heart you may try backing off on the pepper just a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I had some inexpensive cuts of steak to BBQ so we used this recipe, tenderized them, and let marinate over night. Cooked them the next evening. The steaks came out tender and delicious! With this marinade you do not need any added BBQ sauce. We will use this one often since I always have these few ingredients on hand. Only thing I changed is I added fresh ginger and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was wonderful!! My husband and I had company over for a BBQ. They loved it too, I had to write the recipe down so they could take it home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My family and I really enjoyed this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marion, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I changed this a bit. I did only add half the molasses and added some additional garlic, onion powder, and some hickory liquid smoke. When I mixed this up I decided it really looked like a bbq sauce so I didn't marinate my steaks. Instead I brushed it on my steaks during the tail end of cooking them on the grill. It is a really tasty sauce and the ginger gives it a nice bite. I will use this one again we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
It was pretty good. I cut the pepper in half and used a few dashes of Cayenne because I had no hot sauce. I used it on sirloin kebabs. The sweetness would have suited pork just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe would be better described as 'Barbecue sauce' instead of 'Marinade' due to the consistency of the ingrediants after they were mixed. It smells really good, I added a little liquid smoke just to finish off the recipe. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was good, but nothing exceptional. I only had about 1/8 c of molasses left, so I used honey for the rest of the 1/2 cup. As a result, the molasses flavor wasn't overwhelmeing as one reviewer noted, but I was hoping for a little more flavor from it so next time I will try using a 1/4 c of each. I also used powdered garlic and ginger because I was feeling lazy, and I agree with the other reviewer who said *fresh* ginger and garlic are the way to go -- better flavor. I give it 4 stars because I think it has potential so I'll try it again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

See how to make this sensational five-star steak marinade.

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States