Marie's Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I had trouble with this one almost from the start. After adjusting the servings down to 2, it still made WAY too much (the stuff lasted for 4 days straight). It was extremely messy to prepare, as well (my 9x13 pan was overrunning with the cheese sauce). My husband kind of liked it but says there's WAY too much cheddar cheese in it - I definitely agree. If you add other kinds of cheese to this (i.e., mozzarella, Colby jack, etc.), it will taste MUCH better. I don't believe that 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup is really necessary - maybe 1, even 1/2 a can if you want a "light" version of this. Be warned - even reducing the servings will make almost too much for you to handle. Unfortunately I think I'll be sticking to boxed stuff until I can find a better recipe for mac and cheese. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This was delicious but the 6 servings thing? NO WAY! Six sumo wrestlers, maybe..as a side dish, it made enough for many, many, MANY portions. There was no mention of an oven setting, only the timing for baking - I tried 350F and that seemed to work OK. Mixing everything in a big bowl worked better than trying to mix it in the baking dish, too. Overall a good dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe has been revised to include a preheat step and oven temperature. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Great Comfort Food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is always a favorite in our house, especially during the holidays or any family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe and used a casserole dish instead of a 9x13 pan. I added about 2 cups of cooked chicken and about 1 cup of pre-cooked peas and carrots. It was great! I'll definitely be making it again, either as a casserole or straight up mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I too halved this recipe and it still filled a 9x13 baking dish. This was pretty good. I will definitely try fixing this again adding different cheeses to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINKIESSCOOBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I've made this twice, to take to family potlucks. EVERYONE loves it! It's always the first thing cleared. I make the recipe for 16 and serve approx. 35 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Good mac-n-cheese and this is coming from someone who's favorite food is mac-n-cheese! I used a different shaped pasta and Monterey Jack cheese in the dish and cheddar on top and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as stated, and I thought this mac and cheese was just OK. For some reason, my teenager boys did not like it as much as I thought they would. It seemed a bit to "gloppy" and unhealthy. Sorry, but it's just not one of my favorite mac and cheese recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States